Building Phenom II System - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2009, 07:31 PM   #21 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Building Phenom II System

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiZcO View Post
Been holding off on ordering this system..
With 95 Watt TDP AM3 chips two weeks away. Wouldn't make sense to get it now.

Think about it, 95 watt tdp, AM3 chips. That will pop into AM2+ and AM3 boards. So wait for the AM3 chips, it should be well worth it.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 07:37 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: Building Phenom II System

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
With 95 Watt TDP AM3 chips two weeks away. Wouldn't make sense to get it now.

Think about it, 95 watt tdp, AM3 chips. That will pop into AM2+ and AM3 boards. So wait for the AM3 chips, it should be well worth it.
I heard about that.. but isnt it the 2.6ghz isntead of the 3.0ghz and its not BE? and whats the real difference gonna be in from AM2+ to AM3?
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 07:43 PM   #23 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Building Phenom II System

The 925 is is 2.8ghz and clocks to about the same as the 940.

Just googling around, you can find people who have pushed the 920 to 4.0ghz+

But I will admit, on air it gets around 3.5ghz~3.7ghz

With AM2+ chips they work on AM2/AM2+ boards. While AM3 chips will work on both AM2+ boards and AM3 boards.

Which is beneficial when you finally decide to get an AM3 board and DDR3.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 05:38 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default Re: Building Phenom II System

I'm looking at a similar build. However I'm worried about the motherboard.
I was planning on getting this:
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-DS4 790X Socket AM2+ 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard - Ebuyer

I know it supports the chip, but not till later bios version. Will I be okay? Will all motherboards that support the original phenoms boot with phenom II's?

Or can somebody else suggest a different mobo that will make my life a lot easier?
__________________

WelshKorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur) kenny536 System Upgrades 32 03-11-2009 01:25 PM
Get to Know Linux: File System Hierarchy Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 7 12-15-2008 05:26 PM
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.