Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2008, 09:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi.Im.New View Post
Appreciate the input men... ill def look into the 512 version of the vid card and i think min ill go with ps is 700w, but not 100% sure at this point. I have a 200 mb sata hdd in my old rig im gonna use for now. I have 1tb of external space anyway so i should be ok. Does anyone know the actual difference between 64 reg vista and premium off hand?

Ok so I'm going with the 512mb version of the vid card now, good input.
Thirdshift, now im guessing the later link of the ram you suggested is newer, because i see them as having the exact same stats.

again this helps and is most appreciated.
thnx,
hi.im.new
vern explained the diff of vista's....you really only need the 610w...its not really the wattage that matters its the amps on the 12v. and that one has plenty for what you will be running. and the ram that he listed the top one is tracers (have led lights on them ) and the bottom one are not tracers.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 09:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Because its got the Business features and Home Features which are nice, but it isn't worth it... plus the Vista Ultimate extra's are not worth it either
but u can use Remote Desktop Conntection

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
vern explained the diff of vista's....you really only need the 610w...its not really the wattage that matters its the amps on the 12v. and that one has plenty for what you will be running. and the ram that he listed the top one is tracers (have led lights on them ) and the bottom one are not tracers.
wouldnt having led lights use more voltage than having none? if it is true, will it affect overclocking?
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 10:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting

no it won't effect ocing...and i don't think it uses more voltage...that would be kind of dumb to put them there then.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 10:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
no it won't effect ocing...and i don't think it uses more voltage...that would be kind of dumb to put them there then.
you know that ppl can try to trick other ppl with cool design but it isnt good. this is a way to make the person buy them
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting

well there is nothing bad about them.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 07:05 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prototype View Post
but u can use Remote Desktop Conntection



wouldnt having led lights use more voltage than having none? if it is true, will it affect overclocking?
Dude you do know if you go to Microsoft's Site they let you download it right.... (works with XP, Vista and 2000) or you could just buy Vista Business, because XP Media Center isn't that great
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 10:18 AM   #17 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 118
Default Re: Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting

Hey guys,

So I'm gonna get one of these ps's...

Newegg.com - OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W ATX12V Power Supply 100 - 240 V - Power Supplies
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Real Power Pro RS-650-ACAA-A1 650W ATX Form Factor 12V V2.3 / SSI Standard EPS 12V V2.91 Power Supply 90 - 264 V Nemko / TUV / cUL / CE / BSMI / FCC / CCC / CCC / C-tick / GOST - Power Supplies

lemme know if you guys have a preference one over the other. Also, the motherboard i have now, cant sli right? SLI is with 2 pci-e cards correct? Also the ram i was previously thinking about getting has a lifetime warranty where the crucial doesnt...just an observation.

thnx,
hi.im.new
Hi.Im.New is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 02:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting

NO NO NO!!!

GameXStream PSU's have ripples so they are a ticking time bomb....

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC, CCC - Power Supplies

owns both those PSU's
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 04:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting

^^agreed...
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 05:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Building a PC few general questions specific to hardware im getting

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Dude you do know if you go to Microsoft's Site they let you download it right.... (works with XP, Vista and 2000) or you could just buy Vista Business, because XP Media Center isn't that great
I dont get what ur saying

I was saying that Ultimate has Remote Desktop connection but Home Premium doesnt
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on PHYSICALLY Building My PC undefined System Upgrades 9 01-02-2008 09:03 PM
Building and the questions have started :) Jermanfu New Systems | Building and Buying 19 12-24-2007 06:28 PM
A couple general cooling questions Raphael Argus Overclocking and Modding 5 10-31-2007 03:00 AM
Help, First Build Questions - Building Right Now MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-12-2007 07:41 PM
Building new rig: three questions shoenberg3 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-12-2007 05:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.