Building a PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2006, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default Building a PC

ok i have taken your guys advice and decided to build one.. my dell is going to be given to my mom and my sister so for my birthday ill be able to get a new comp (i know its pathetic but i wasted my cash on a rip off dell so dont judge me)


Please reccomend me a ivdeo card mobo anything if you can..

Heres my case with psu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811105147

Heres my motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813154009

Heres my processor (alittle underpowered i think?)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

Heres my video card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102505

Heres my HD
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148113

A poor mans speaker system
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16836113157

a poor mans lcd screen
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824014090
__________________

__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k do not by psu that comes with a case, u risk A LOT!!
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 05:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

hmmm i'm not worried i read the reviews people are saying its ok..

how about everything else.. is my motherboard good? i have a 240pin mobo right now.. is 184 pin really that bad?

is the proccessor underpowered? will this be able to play games like oblivion?
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

also you might want to change the mobo to MSi K8n neo4-f, and save some money there, the msi im sure is better.

and from that upgrade ur CPU.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

it will paly oblivion no doubt, on medium settings to i expect, but ya know, its not bad, whats ur budgt?
harry18 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yeah......oblivion is a MONSTER! with that system i'd be surprised if u can play it smoothly on medium settings.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

i reacon so, my p4@3.2, 128mb 9700, played it on med, abit choppy, but that pc is way better than mine, but try and up the cpu if ya can tho, or go opty and OC, i dunno how price compare tho
harry18 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

240 pin memory - DDR2
184 pin memory - DDR

Right now, AMD supports ONLY DDR... They will pick up DDR2 when the AM2 socket comes out.
Right now, only Intel supports DDR2 memory.

For right now, with the system you have planned, you will be fine with DDR memory.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

ok so my proccessor is alittle bit underpowered... why dont i just go intel.

i want an ati motherboard so i can crossfire and overclock my video card.. i went alittle cheaper is this motherboard good?
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813135008

i can spend $50 more, should i just get an intel? or if i get a 2.2ghz amd cpu will that be better?
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

you could go for an opteron 144, a little more pricey, but better and oc it like funk, and therse a msi mobo for about 70$, and ati, so that would probly be better
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.