Building a PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2005, 12:22 AM   #11 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

Alright, I took most of your advice guys. The hard drive is now a Seagate rather than a Maxtor, memory is now Kingston rather than Geil, changed the motherboard from Asus to DFI and the 450 watt Kingwin is now a 430 watt Thermaltake. This is my setup right now,
please tell me if this works and if I can change anything for the better:

______________________


Case: Xion II Black ATX Case

Video Card: XFX Geforce 6800 256MB DDR3 PCI-E

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

Optical Drive: Lite-on DVD-RW 16x

Hard Drive: Seagate 160 GB SATA-300

Motherboard: DFI NF4 DAGF NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX

PSU: Thermaltake 430-watt ATX

Memory: Kingston 1024MB PC3200

Final price with shipping and handling: $1,290.04
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 12:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

I don't like bumping myself or people who do bump threads, but this is pretty urgent. When I get this setup finalized, I'm gonna purchase it right away, I'm hoping by at least tommorow morning, so please excuse this bump. But please can someone just check out this new setup and tell me if it's alright? Anything I should change?
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 12:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

alright common word on the Maxtor drives isnt true and is just bad experiences between them and opinions. I have used them and have NEVER had a MAxtor drive fail on me. XFX sucks, and so does Kingston.
Get an eVGA 6800 w/ 128mb of RAM and unlock the pipes and OC it to GT speeds. Bam bout 100 bucks saved tehre. Get a 3000 or 3200+ Venice and OC it on that DFI baord w/ some after market cooling and you got youself some more money saved. Scratch the Kingston RAM and get some Corsair Valueselect 1gig (2x512) or OCZ Value ram 1gig (2x512). Believe me, do that and you will save more money. Also, on second thought the HD thing is just a personal thing, get what you want.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 01:10 AM   #14 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

Alright Mguire, I changed the Kingstons to Corsair. I am saving a bit of money on that. I changed the XFX version of the 6800 to a eVGA, but I really don't want to get into overclocking for now, which also means I won't change the processor. Thanks for the advice though, helped a lot. Any more suggestions?

New setup:
_______________________________________________

Case: Xion II Black ATX Case

Video Card: eVGA Geforce 6800 256MB DDR PCI-E

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3500+

Optical Drive: Lite-on DVD-RW 16x

Hard Drive: Seagate 160 GB SATA-300

Motherboard: DFI NF4 DAGF NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX

PSU: Thermaltake 430-watt ATX

Memory: OCZ 1024MB PC3200

Final price with shipping and handling: $1,319.04
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 01:15 AM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Wait man, your price when up though....... And according to your thing it says OCZ? hahah
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 01:20 AM   #16 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Wait man, your price when up though....... And according to your thing it says OCZ? hahah
It was the eVGA that really brought the price up a bit. But really, that is CANADIAN MONEY. You might be thinking US dollars. I honestly can't believe what a great system I'm getting for $1300 flat with shipping and handling included. For you guys, it's like $950 USD with shipping included!
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.