Building an 'old school' Gaming puter - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2006, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default Building an 'old school' Gaming puter

With a few office computer under my belt, I figured it was time to upgrade my spyware infested, dinosaur gaming computer (AMD Athlon 2200+, 1 GB, GeForce Ti4600) with something new, but with a catch. I'm kind of an older gamer, and while I definitely appreciate the new games that come out, I'm pretty much only interested in playing HL:CS and HL:TFC (yea the original, I don't even have Source yet but I plan to!), Battlefield: Vietnam, and I just really got into World of Warcraft. So with this system I basically want these games (plus CSSource, eventually) to run flawlessly (they don't right now), which I think won't require a ridiculous set-up, but as it been about two years since I built my last system, I am absoultely blown away by what is on the market now, and I don't really know where to start. I'm not interested in a Conroe/8800GTX set-up. That seems overkill for my needs. Could someone give me a general direction to go? And what is the deal with these 10,000 RPM hard drives? Do they have an effect on game performance? Thanks a lot guys.


Total Immortal is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952

I just put this together for someone else, but here ya go'

Just add a case and PSU.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 08:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal

That all looks very nice. I have a question about the 3d card though, it looks like it only has DVI outs.. is that common for 3D cards now? The current monitor I have a is a pretty nice 19" CRT, but it is SVGA.
So, what do you think about
as an alternative? Is DVI really that much better?
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
fade2black2004's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,629
Send a message via AIM to fade2black2004

the card should come with an adaptor
fade2black2004 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 08:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
lancec2c30's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30

whoa dude I think you should do a little research just to see what is standard stuff right now.

But dont worry about it having dvi instead of analog the card will come with an adapter that you can use.

here are some basics. PCI-E, socket am2, ddr2 memory, sata2 hard drives. I dont know if ti will help you out any, but it is a start.

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 10:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal

Thanks for the info lancec. And if it's any consolation, I'm pretty embarassed that I'm so far out of it. The last time I was looking at high-performance products, 64-bit processors weren't even out yet. So yea, it's been a while.
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 05:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
UA_Iron's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857

Originally posted by Trotter
I just put this together for someone else, but here ya go'

Just add a case and PSU.
Value DDR ram is hardly a "value" anymore with DDR2 out now and the prices of DDR ram going up.

this ram would give better performance and costs less (post rebate):

UA_Iron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.