Building new rig: three questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2007, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
Default Building new rig: three questions

Hello
For the build so far, I have: E6700 2.66, 2 gb RAM 800mhz, and ATI X300.
Quite obviously, the bottleneck is the X300. I am getting a 8800gtx for a good price in June. Meanwhile, however, I need a mid-level card that could run Oblivion on mostly max settings, considering the CPU and RAM I have now. What would that card be? I do not want to spend over 200 dollars on it.

Another question regards buying a hard drive and setting up XP. I will get a new additional HD and want to install a fresh XP on that one, but I want to keep my older HD without reformatting. How would I do that?

The last question is: would running a DX9 game with a DX10 card on Vista be better looking than running it in XP?

Thanks
__________________

shoenberg3 is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 07:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Building new rig: three questions

For the graphic card, I would suggest the 7900GS, which plays most or all games on max.

For the second question, you can take out your old HD, install the new one, install XP, and you're done. If you want to still use the older HD with the new one, just set the new one to master, and the old one to slave.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 07:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
Default Re: Building new rig: three questions

Is there a particular reason that the old one becomes slave? Isn't it possible to sort of "dual-boot" two XPs so that I could use one for gaming (keeping it spyware free) and one for everything else?
shoenberg3 is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Building new rig: three questions

I think so, but unfortunately, I don't know about dual booting operating systems. I'm sure somebody else here, will explain.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 11:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Building new rig: three questions

I would wait for the 8600GT.

You can install XP on the new and old hard drive for a dual boot. If you want to have two XPs on the new drive, you can partition it in two parts with Partition Magic and install a copy on each partition.
turtile is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 04:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Building new rig: three questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtile View Post
I would wait for the 8600GT.

You can install XP on the new and old hard drive for a dual boot. If you want to have two XPs on the new drive, you can partition it in two parts with Partition Magic and install a copy on each partition.
the 8600GT is nothing impressive.

For the OPs price range I would suggest a x1950xt or x1950pro over the 7900GS. If he is going to be playing oblivion then the ATI cards significantly outperform nvidia.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 07:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Building new rig: three questions

But he said he is getting an 8800GTX in June, so he shouldn't spend that much on a graphic card. If he gets the 7900GS, he can overclock it pretty good.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 08:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Building new rig: three questions

My vote still goes for the x1950pro...he said he wants to play oblivion and the x1950pro does SIGNIFICANTLY better than the 7900GS in this game

Look at the benchies:
VGA Charts | Tom's Hardware

And 135 after rebate...not bad
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100176L Radeon X1950PRO 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 08:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Building new rig: three questions

Yea I have the X1950PRO, and it plays Oblivion pretty well. I just thought he could overclock the 7900GS, since it's known to overclock well, and it could beat the X1950PRO.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 08:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Building new rig: three questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Yea I have the X1950PRO, and it plays Oblivion pretty well. I just thought he could overclock the 7900GS, since it's known to overclock well, and it could beat the X1950PRO.
Yeah you may have a point...it just depends on how much the x1950pro can clock as well.

Also the x1950 has the advantage of HDR and AA
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could someone answer these questions... tech_to_be Technology Careers and Education 2 04-24-2007 04:00 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM
Questions for my new PC: Vista mostly veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 11:56 PM
Building a(nother) pc bmxfreakrider Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 04-07-2007 04:33 PM
OC questions zenyora Overclocking and Modding 12 04-03-2007 03:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.