Building A New Gaming PC - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2006, 08:56 PM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

then buy a cheapo cool master case thats what i have and i got a pretty nice anec psu the psu is millions of times more important than the case
__________________

__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:00 PM   #32 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 145
Default

My max budget is 1200 its all i got.

Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 ST3250823AS 250GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM

DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

eVGA 256-P2-N517-AX Geforce 7800GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Platinum System Memory Model OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K - Retail

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 1GHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA3800BVBOX - Retail

That is all about 1000. And also i know it says 7800gt. The 7900gt is a bit cheaper somehow, but its out of stock so im just subsituting it for now Im getting the 7900 gt.
__________________

__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 1GHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA3800BVBOX
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3808110AS 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Platinum System Memory Model OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K
eVGA 256-P2-N563-AX Geforce 7900GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Thermaltake Big Typhoon CL-P0114 120mm Cooling Fan with Heatsink
xXx-Tricky-xXx is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:01 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

get this case, im guessing you really don't care how flashy it is.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129163

it comes with an antec 400w very worth the money
Running is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:01 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

True, but you do need good airflow and a solid amount of fans and a case of a sturdy material.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:10 PM   #35 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 145
Default

hmm well i have to decide in like 5 minutes wheather or not I want to buy the 2gb of OCZ ram for 190 bucks and a 40 dollar rebate of 40 back. It ends tonight. It seems the best memory out there for my price range.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 1GHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA3800BVBOX
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3808110AS 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Platinum System Memory Model OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K
eVGA 256-P2-N563-AX Geforce 7900GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Thermaltake Big Typhoon CL-P0114 120mm Cooling Fan with Heatsink
xXx-Tricky-xXx is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:11 PM   #36 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

3800+, ocz ram, 7900gt, so far EXCELLENT choices.


the asus a8n32 is one of the best SLI mobos out there, i donno what that other guy was talking about. DFI is also a good brand. but since you don't intend on getting SLI, just get a single slot mobo and save some money.

as for power supply, get this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954 $51

your 7900gt requires:

Requirements
Minimum of a 400 Watt power supply.
(Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 20 Amp Amps.)
Minimum 500 Watt for SLI mode system.
(Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 28 Amp Amps.)
An available 6 pin PCI-E power connector (hard drive power dongle to PCI-E 6 pin adapter included with card)

so i high quality, affordable 450watt psu like the one i linked should be good enough for your setup.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:28 PM   #37 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 145
Default

hmm ok nevermind, this was a waste of time i guess...

seems im never getting broadband again so theres no point on spending 1200 on a computer when i cant play any games. Thanks for your guys help but my mom is an *** and theres no point spending 1200 when I wont be able to play any games other than boring single player stuff.
__________________
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 1GHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA3800BVBOX
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3808110AS 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Platinum System Memory Model OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K
eVGA 256-P2-N563-AX Geforce 7900GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Thermaltake Big Typhoon CL-P0114 120mm Cooling Fan with Heatsink
xXx-Tricky-xXx is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:38 PM   #38 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

aww that sux, but im sure you can convince her, depending on how old u r, work ur puppy dog face, or give her the guilt trip, say that, now that im in high school or something, i wont have time to hang with friends and it will be the one outlet where you can have some fun next to study study study *yeah right*.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:43 PM   #39 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

or get a wireless card and go off someone elses broadband connection...just ask them first
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 01:20 PM   #40 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 145
Default

its not that she wont get broadband its that it isnt available apparently. We moved, then my pc breaks. Weve had dial up until we found dsl or cable internet but i guess cable tv is only 10 channels and doesnt have internet so we had to get sattelite tv and so where stuck with dial up. Trying to make her move back but we just bought the house so she wont. >.< Its pretty sad, no dsl, no cable, only thing is 1 privately owned dial up service that is run from someones house. Its pathetic. So bye bye BF2, CS, and WoW. And I already looked up wireless stuff, theres no broadband providers for about 30 miles. I live in the middle of nowhere now surrounded by huge lake about 20 yards from it.

Please let me know if you can think of ways to get someone to provide broadband for us. My zipcode is 66070 in Kansas, but im pretty sure there is no providers.
__________________

xXx-Tricky-xXx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.