Building a new gaming desktop...any thoughts?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack_who689

Baseband Member
This is a list of the components im using on my first build, please leave some feedback will help if i ever try to make another build in the future :)

Case: Thermaltake V9 blacx edition
Mobo: Gigabyte 880GA-UD3H
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1090t 3.2Ghz
RAM: G.skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3 - 1866
HDD: Seagate Barricuda 1TB 7200 rpm
GPU: MSI N580GTX Lightning Xtreme edition 3gb DDR5
PSU: 880W Cool Power Gamer Series

*well this is the basic components i used, anything about it please lemme know. I havent put it together yet since im still awaiting the RAM and GPU to come in via ebay :).

And two questions (just proves that im a amateur at all this lol)...

1. Was thinking of going dual monitors, although i know the 580gtx can run on two monitors was thinking of getting another GPU just to go browsing on the second monitor, and if i was to do that can i get a cheaper GPU or would it have to be the same GPUs?

2. I do have the money for a i7 processor, but really i just want one that will do the job, so seeing that the phenom II six core was way cheaper and still being six core and 3+ ghz i just stayed with that one, or does the six core i7 show a significance performance difference?

Thank You for taking the time to read this :), just a newbie seeking some professional opinions.

You can go with a lower power GPU and still put 2 monitors on there.
I have an ATI Radeon 6850 and I have two monitors, I can play a video file on my spare monitor while playing a full screen game on the other and it still runs fine.

And if you like the AMD Phenom II x6 1090t then stick with it, but if you want to game, not a lot of games can take advantage of the 6 cores.

Nice build

Thanks for feedback,

So with both monitots running on your GPU you never get any tech problems, rverything runs smoothly?