Building a new gaming comp. Wanting to Run Bad Company 2 maxed out. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2010, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Default Building a new gaming comp. Wanting to Run Bad Company 2 maxed out.

Hello guys. I'm looking to get/build a gaming pc.I have mw2,bf2,waw,bc2.I just want something that will run bad company maxed out or **** close.

Possible with a budget of 5-600 (not including monitor)? Any ideas? Thanks
__________________

luciddreemz is offline  
Old 06-07-2010, 02:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Building a new gaming comp. Wanting to Run Bad Company 2 maxed out.

**** good job druid
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 06-07-2010, 11:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Building a new gaming comp. Wanting to Run Bad Company 2 maxed out.

Druid you're slackin XD.

x4 940 is am2+, the gigabyte mobo is am3.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 06-07-2010, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Building a new gaming comp. Wanting to Run Bad Company 2 maxed out.

arnt they backwards compatible?
Sean W. is offline  
Old 06-07-2010, 03:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Building a new gaming comp. Wanting to Run Bad Company 2 maxed out.

no, you can't use an am2/am2+ cpu in an am3 mobo.

but it will work the other way around (depending on the mobo and possible required bios updates), an am3 cpu can work in an am2/am2+ mobo.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 06-07-2010, 03:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Building a new gaming comp. Wanting to Run Bad Company 2 maxed out.

well that might even work out for his benefit saving him some money on a motherboard.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 06-07-2010, 04:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Building a new gaming comp. Wanting to Run Bad Company 2 maxed out.

am2+ and am3 mobos (for his budget) are pretty similarly priced so i doubt he would save much there.

if he were going to save somewhere, it would probably be on the ram, but even then he would only save like 10-15 bucks with ddr2 vs ddr3, so IMO you might aswell stick with an am3 mobo/ ddr3 ram.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 06-07-2010, 04:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Building a new gaming comp. Wanting to Run Bad Company 2 maxed out.

If it wasn't compatible then why would newegg sell them as a combo deal?
overlord20 is offline  
Old 06-07-2010, 04:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Building a new gaming comp. Wanting to Run Bad Company 2 maxed out.

Yeah, that doesn't make sense, but newegg doesn't guarantee compatibility. R u sure?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hard drive hogging my laptop epearsall HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 04-06-2010 11:36 AM
Is this a virus? Klope3 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 36 04-14-2009 01:54 AM
Suspect Trojan in My computer madking153 HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 04-06-2009 09:30 PM
Spyware Removal Guide by Osiris Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 30 10-14-2008 08:50 PM
My hijackthis log mouldeeves HijackThis Logs (finished) 5 09-01-2008 05:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.