Building a new computer... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2007, 07:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Building a new computer...

same model RAM is recommended tho...
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 09:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Building a new computer...

Alright, what if I just left the RAM config with 4 GB but still used 32bit? I know it wouldn't recognize all 4 GB but, would it mess it up? And if thats the case, is it worth it to go to 64bit?
__________________

iGarrett is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 09:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Building a new computer...

yes... its always good to have Surplus ram
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 09:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 464
Default Re: Building a new computer...

quick comment no the ram thing..
I talked to a guy that works at staples and he was telling me that Windows PC's cant use more than 2GB of Ram.... is that true? Because that seemed ridiculous to me.
Monkey is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 09:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Building a new computer...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkey View Post
quick comment no the ram thing..
I talked to a guy that works at staples and he was telling me that Windows PC's cant use more than 2GB of Ram.... is that true? Because that seemed ridiculous to me.
he's a moron... it reads like 3gb on 32bit, reads like 8gb on 64bit XP
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 01:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Building a new computer...

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
he's a moron... it reads like 3gb on 32bit, reads like 8gb on 64bit XP
Yup service pack 2 does 3gb, look at sig.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 04:19 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Building a new computer...

if this build is going to be bought later on, forget prices now. new components and revision are made frequently so wait untill maybe a couple of weeks before u r ready to buy.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 08:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Building a new computer...

Hm, I guess I'll see right before buying it on whether vista 64bit has improved, if it hasn't, then I will look at getting 3 GB of RAM, because if 32bit only recognizes 3.25GB of the 4GB, then don't ya think something wouldn't work quite like it should? Of course, what do I know, I'm pretty much a novice, the most I've done is upgraded my dad's Dell from 256MB to 1.25GB RAM and gave him a nVidia. Thanks for all of your input!
iGarrett is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 01:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Building a new computer...

If your that concerned about 32 or 64 bit then get a retail version of vista ultimate on ebay that comes with both. They go for about 180-200 if you're willing to spend.

Also I don't see how you didnt check nvidia.com for the 8800gt which has a link to newegg.

Newegg.com - EVGA 512-P3-N802-A1 GeForce 8800GT Superclocked 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 03:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Building a new computer...

Because I'm pretty sure the motherboard I picked out does not have a pci-e 2.0. But I might be wrong, it just doesn't say anything about pci-e 2.0 on the specs..
__________________

iGarrett is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a New Computer ProtocoL New Systems | Building and Buying 15 10-21-2007 10:36 PM
Building my first computer SKWeathers System Upgrades 12 09-28-2007 07:52 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.