Building a new computer - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2007, 10:44 AM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Building a new computer

It keeps things organized from your personal files...and if you wanted to reformat, you only have to erase one hard drive or one partition, instead of the whole thing.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 10:45 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Building a new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
For $200 you can get WD 750GB which is fast as raptor but have much higher capacity
they're not quite as fast. And there's also the seek time, which is something like 5ms on the Raptor compared to 8ms.

Though unless you really want bleeding edge loading times, it isn't worth getting one.

At a friends LAN I went to, we played lots of multiplyer games, and I was always the first person to have the games load (including 8 player C&C 3 games)
A few people got new hard drives then. That's when I got the Raptor, and I helped somebody else install 2x320GB drives.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 10:59 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Building a new computer

Back to my original question real quick here; if I change the RAM and upgrade to the 8800GTS then everything else looks good?
I was also wondering if I need to pick up any extra SATA or IDE cables as I didn't have enough the last time I built my computer.
Sabar is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 11:00 AM   #24 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Building a new computer

your motherboard should have sata cables, and yes the RAM + GTS you should be goood
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 11:02 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: Building a new computer

Yeah, reformat on a single HD is a pain, plus windows gets clogged over time. Its just good practice in my view.

I don't mean to hijack this thread, but its relevant. With the above in mind, I was planning a build with 2 harddisks. The original plan was 2x seagate barracuda 320GB 7200.10, one for OS one for other goof. As for the OS HD, is it really worth bothering with a WD 74GB 10000rpm? It would cost a bit more than a 320GB seagate? what about an 80GB seagate, would that be sufficient? Is there any gain from using two identical hard disks, or does it not matter?
Andyf is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 11:04 AM   #26 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Building a new computer

If you put both identical hard disks in a RAID 0 configuration, it would be as if you're running similar to the 10k rpm drives. Just make sure, you backup your stuff.

It's not worth the extra money for such a little space, that the 74GB 10k rpm drive offers. I would just go with two fast 7200rpm hard drives. One for OS and the other for personal.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 11:06 AM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Building a new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyf View Post
Yeah, reformat on a single HD is a pain, plus windows gets clogged over time. Its just good practice in my view.

I don't mean to hijack this thread, but its relevant. With the above in mind, I was planning a build with 2 harddisks. The original plan was 2x seagate barracuda 320GB 7200.10, one for OS one for other goof. As for the OS HD, is it really worth bothering with a WD 74GB 10000rpm? It would cost a bit more than a 320GB seagate? what about an 80GB seagate, would that be sufficient? Is there any gain from using two identical hard disks, or does it not matter?
I don't mind as it is relevant. I was wondering along the same lines if you're going to run 2 HD's then which one is the primary and which one becomes the slave? The one with the OS would be the primary I guess?

I'm also interested in the answer to Andy's questions as well.
Sabar is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 11:07 AM   #28 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Building a new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabar View Post
I don't mind as it is relevant. I was wondering along the same lines if you're going to run 2 HD's then which one is the primary and which one becomes the slave? The one with the OS would be the primary I guess?

I'm also interested in the answer to Andy's questions as well.
Yes...the OS drive would be primary, while the storage or personal hard drive is the secondary or slave.

I did post an answer to Andy's question, earlier.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 11:10 AM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Building a new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I did post an answer to Andy's question, earlier.
Ya; just saw it. You must have posted while I was thinking/typing. Thanks for the advice, I think I'll pick up an extra HDD too if this is the case.

EDIT
Is it worth it to pick up another 320GB HDD if I'm not going to be using it for anything but my OS (which will be windows XP since I hear vista still has a ton of issues) or should I just pick up some cheap 80GB sucker?
Sabar is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 11:15 AM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Building a new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyf View Post
As for the OS HD, is it really worth bothering with a WD 74GB 10000rpm?
Only if you don't mind spending the extra money.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Building New Computer Inflict Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-22-2007 02:00 AM
Computer Building Help internationalballr New Systems | Building and Buying 14 05-22-2007 04:06 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.