building new comp avice!!! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2007, 01:07 AM   #21 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

E6600, not E6700.

Or even an E6400 or E6300. Honestly You won't notice much difference but just to be safe get the E6600. It's the absolute in terms of money.

I don't like the 680i but it's still a pretty good board.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:09 AM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default

well this is going to be a gaming pc an i just thought it would prob be the best for gaming. plus i already bought it its shipping now lol. What g skill ram would u recommened for my board?
__________________

baron5 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:13 AM   #23 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Oh well the thing is its only really 266mhz more power for 230 bucks, just not worth it. Oh well though whats done is done. Also I recommend...

this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098

or this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231084

They both will work fine with an E6700 and the Green NR's will overclock better, but you shoudln't have to overclock them much anyway so it's your call.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:14 AM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default

ohh yeah ive already changed from a e6700 to a 600 coz it wsnt worth it yeah.
baron5 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:16 AM   #25 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

excellent the E6600 is the way to go, Grab one of those ram and you'll be on your way to a nice system heh.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:18 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default

so isnt it worth gettin the 1000mhz g skill ram the ligh blue ones if u have seen them. how much difference is their between 1000mhz and 800mhz or is it better to have a faster clock ?
baron5 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:31 AM   #27 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Well honestly that isn't 1000 or 800mhz. They are DDR2 so they run at 500 and 400mhz but thats besides the point. I know you mean DDR2-1000 and 800 but no they are not worth it becuase the ammount of performance increase you will see is extremely minimal if any while costing a lot more.

Just get the cheapest G.Skill DDR2-800 which would be the red and be done with it. Use the extra money you saved on somwehere else where it matters becuase RAM doesn't play a big part in performance at all.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:37 AM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default

ok so just get some simple pc 6400 and then save the money
baron5 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:44 AM   #29 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Exactly a Core 2 Duo Can run on DDR2-533 memory but DDR2-800 is good for overclocking and it's more future proof.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:45 AM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default

ok kool so when im playin new dx10 games like crysis that ram will be fine
__________________

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.