building a new comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2007, 11:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Default building a new comp

Ok this is my first attempt at building a computer....I was going to just upgrade my old tower but i then decided to just buy a whole new system. I only have $600 to spend and this is what i came up with (I know its not going to be the best of systems but better than what i had) I already have a Hard drive and Disk drives.

Sunbeam Transformer IC-TR-US-BK Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case 450W Power Supply - Retail $89.99

BIOSTAR TForce TF570SLI Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $87.99

XFX PVT84JUDD3 GeForce 8600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail $139.99

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADX6000CZBOX - Retail $169.99

A-DATA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model ADQVE1A16K - Retail $79.99

with shipping from newegg it comes out to be $594.xx so I dont have much room to work with...so if someone could tell me if this will all work together, or has another suggestion for a better comp for under 600 I would greatly appreciate it. (I might be able to spend like 20-30 more if i have to)
__________________

corye is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 01:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: building a new comp

bump...
__________________

corye is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: building a new comp

Give this a full day per bump.

Yes, all the parts work.

As for ram: Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Even if you are not overclock, this has lower timings.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: building a new comp

Ooh, peter is suggesting Crucial Ballistix! This is something new. :laughing:

Yes, everything is fine, just the RAM.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: building a new comp

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Ooh, peter is suggesting Crucial Ballistix! This is something new. :laughing:

Yes, everything is fine, just the RAM.
I always suggest good ram.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 02:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: building a new comp

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
I always suggest good ram.
A good ram at a good price. Have to remember that, :happy: !
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 03:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: building a new comp

I recommend E6550 because it overclocks better and consume much less power that this power-hungry processor called 6000+

Processor
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 Conroe 2.33GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

Motherboard ($82 after MIR)
Newegg.com - MSI P35 Neo-F LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

MSI 8800GTS ($138 after MIR)
Newegg.com - MSI NX8600GTS-T2D256EZ HD GeForce 8600GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Ram ($76 after MIR)
Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 03:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: building a new comp

nice build...

that 6000+ takes more power than a g0 q6600
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 04:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: building a new comp

the only problem with that intel build is that the Mobo doesnt have sli which i plan to use eventually when i get another vid card...
corye is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 04:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: building a new comp

Quote:
Originally Posted by corye View Post
the only problem with that intel build is that the Mobo doesnt have sli which i plan to use eventually when i get another vid card...
SLI is unnecessary and useless... but if u crave it so freaking badly get a msi p6n sli-fi
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 08-04-2007 06:58 AM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 07-27-2007 01:02 AM
Noob Needs Advise for Building Gaming Comp therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 29 05-20-2007 08:53 PM
Help Building a CAD Comp =] GopherBallz New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-19-2007 03:45 PM
Building a Comp GhostScytheX New Systems | Building and Buying 21 04-28-2007 06:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.