Building my own Gaming laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2006, 10:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default Building my own Gaming laptop

Ok, so i was wondering if anybody knew sites where i can purchase parts for a laptop as well as a bare laptop casing etc. I would like to build my own since alienware is a joke for prices as are most places that do custom laptops.


I've build numerous desktops and i'm sure i could find a walkthrough or some kind of direction to put a laptop together.

Just having some trouble finding anywhere to actually get laptop specific parts etc.

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

d0ntcar3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 27
Default

I didnt know that was possible to do. I've always wanted to build my own laptop.
__________________

StylingPaT is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 11:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

It may or may not be possible but i figure its gotta be since there are a number of companies online that customize them such as alienware/cyberpowerinc/ibuypower etc.

If its not thats good to know but if it is would like to know if there is a good place to get started with parts.
d0ntcar3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

It's possible, but extremely uneconomical. Laptops are not for gaming. If you want to game, you buy a desktop. If you want to go to lans, you get a microATX form factor case.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

I want a laptop for school but also has the ability to game. I play dark age of camelot occasionally and i do things where i login 3-4 accounts. So i dont want to build another desktop as i already have one. I just want a laptop that will be able to dual log that i can also take to school with me since i do homework in the library cause i cant concentrate at home with roomates.
d0ntcar3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well since you have a gaming rig, I don't quite understand why you need a gaming laptop.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I think the Asus z71v comes with a card that can be swapped.

It only comes with a 6600GT GO but you can buy a 7800GTX GO from Dell. (you may have to get a stronger power supply also)
turtile is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

he wants to play games while hes out or on the go....right?
adam06 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

Yes, but like i just said i sometimes play where i need to login 3-4 clients... since 1 computer can only login 2 i want my laptop to be able to run the other 1-2. Not to mention i travel every year a few times and would like to be able to game on the plane etc.
d0ntcar3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

alienware... dell xps... things of that nature are your options.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.