building my new rig, please help - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2008, 08:49 PM   #81 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Black screws usually do not come with motherboards. And that picture of your case, the screws look fine.

They probably came with the case.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 08:52 PM   #82 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Yes the screws that I used came with the case. I just didn't want to mess anything up.

I am thinking that the motherboard didn't come with any screws, which is probably pretty rare, isn't it? If it did, they are no where to be found.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:01 PM   #83 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Usually the case comes with most of the screws needed to mount everything. At least with my case.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:04 PM   #84 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Ok thanks for your help. I really appreciate it. If I have any more questions or have trouble, I will be back. I just hope I don't have to remove the motherboard to install the heatsink.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:09 PM   #85 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Since you're using the ACF7Pro heatsink, you probably don't have to remove the motherboard, because it is a push pin style heatsink. Just push the pins through the holes until they click. Unlike the heatsinks that require putting a backplate on, and then screwing the heatsink to the backplate.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 10:11 PM   #86 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

One thing I forgot to ask. What is the default key to enter the bios? Isn't it F2?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 10:20 PM   #87 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

It depends on the motherboard. I press DEL to get into mine. Read your motherboard manual. It will tell you how.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 04:35 PM   #88 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

I have a question on installing the CPU. I put the CPU in, went to close the door and it was pretty tight. I got it shut but it felt like something was going to break. Is it supposed to be tight? It can only go in one way right? I thought I heard somewhere that the lettering on the CPU is supposed to be across. Mine is up and down.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 05:09 PM   #89 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
I have a question on installing the CPU. I put the CPU in, went to close the door and it was pretty tight. I got it shut but it felt like something was going to break. Is it supposed to be tight? It can only go in one way right? I thought I heard somewhere that the lettering on the CPU is supposed to be across. Mine is up and down.
the cpu can only fit in one way. And yes it will be tight. I thought my new one was a little tight too. It is diff on some motherboards. But your ok.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 05:09 PM   #90 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Again, look at the motherboard manual. It's all there. Yes, it can only go in one way, and there is suppose to be no force putting it in. There is an arrow to the lower left hand corner of the CPU, if the words are read straight from left to right. There are also two notches on the CPU, that match to the socket. So it would be really hard to mess it up.

And the part where you close the latch, yes it's suppose to be tight. You wouldn't want it loose, and falling out, right?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest rig jobmitsuo System Upgrades 12 12-02-2007 01:27 AM
Building a Rig need advice fluidman New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-06-2007 04:48 PM
Newbie building a high end gaming rig Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-24-2007 03:02 PM
Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid Raphael Argus System Upgrades 18 09-22-2007 05:51 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.