building my new rig, please help - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2008, 08:00 PM   #41 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Here is an updated pic:



The middle is alot more open now. Do you see anything that can help me out?

I got my processor ordered. I bought the q6600 instead of waiting for the e8400 to come back in stock. I can't wait till I get my machine running. I hope I don't have any trouble.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:04 PM   #42 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

jesus. Do you have room to tuck any wires away.


Edit: that case doens't look like it has good wire management. With my old thermaltake. I would tuck unused wires on the other side panel that the mb mounts to. I took the right panel off(if you were looking straight at the case from the front) put all unecessary wires and then put the panel back on. See if theres any room there. Then just group and zip tie the rest.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:24 PM   #43 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Iron Feet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aurora,IL
Posts: 172
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

This has been a helpful post. I'll be attempting my first build in the near future and reading stuff like this helps me understand better.

Good luck on your build memory!
Iron Feet is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:25 PM   #44 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

what on earth did you do with your psu?
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:28 PM   #45 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

The PSU is behind the hard drive cage where it is supposed to be.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:31 PM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

ok so wait... it is sitting next to your HD?... i would move your HD that is way to hot of an area for it
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:35 PM   #47 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Where do you suggest I move it to? Would it be better in one of those three slots at the bottom front?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 09:10 PM   #48 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

yes those spots on the bottom front are made for HDs, better place than up top.. what i was saying earlier about moving teh drive up i meant move it up to the top spot on the bottom, sorry for not explaining that it never occured to me that you had drive bays way up there
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 09:29 PM   #49 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Okay I will move it back down there. Since that top hard drive bay is going to be empty, could I just take it out for more air flow?

What are the spaces above the 3 hard drive bays for? Originally that is where I thought you wanted me to move it to.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 09:34 PM   #50 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
Since that top hard drive bay is going to be empty, could I just take it out for more air flow?
Yes. If it's not going to be used, there's no point in having it up there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory
What are the spaces above the 3 hard drive bays for? Originally that is where I thought you wanted me to move it to.
That's for CD or DVD drives. Or any 3.5" device, such as a fan controller or card reader.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest rig jobmitsuo System Upgrades 12 12-02-2007 01:27 AM
Building a Rig need advice fluidman New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-06-2007 04:48 PM
Newbie building a high end gaming rig Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-24-2007 03:02 PM
Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid Raphael Argus System Upgrades 18 09-22-2007 05:51 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.