building my new rig, please help - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2008, 01:54 PM   #31 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory
On the hard drive and dvd drive, should there be just 2 cables connected to each one?
Yes. A data and power cable to each one.

Everything seems to be ok. It's kind of hard to tell, because of all the wires. You should really try cleaning it up. With all the wires in the middle like that, the airflow won't be so good. It's like you're trying to run through a forest, rather than running through an open field.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:19 PM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

does your case have a fan in the bottom drive bays? cuz if it does you wanna put your dvd drive at the top so you dont restrict air flow, also i personally like to move my graphics card lower so i keep it away from the bridge chip sets so all of the heat doesnt hang around in that one area
__________________

__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:45 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Yes it does have a fan at the bottom in the front. And I do have the dvd drive up top. That is my hard drive. I figured it would be good in front of the fan so it would keep it cool. Do you think I should move it?

That is the only place I can put the video card.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:47 PM   #34 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

The video card will get hotter than the hard drive, so it would be a good idea to move the hard drive a little higher. Unless you have a side intake fan.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:52 PM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

o nm then i thought that black thing on the bottom was your dvd drive... if you cant move your gpu then i guess there isnt any thing you can do about it.. not that it is a big deal really there should be more than enough cooling in that rig esp since you have a dual slot cooler on your gpu

also can you move the on off switch, the reset button ect around or is that fixed?
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:57 PM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

I believe I can move the power button but why would I need to move that?

No I do not have a side intake fan.

I will move that hard drive as high as I can then.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 03:03 PM   #37 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by heister View Post
if you cant move your gpu then i guess there isnt any thing you can do about it..
How can he move his GPU? There's only one slot it will go in, and there's no where else to put it..lol..
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 03:07 PM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
How can he move his GPU? There's only one slot it will go in, and there's no where else to put it..lol..
haha yea.. i was asking him if he had any other pci-e slots for it to improve the airflow in the case .. but alas he does not so he is stuck with it

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
I believe I can move the power button but why would I need to move that?

No I do not have a side intake fan.

I will move that hard drive as high as I can then.
i was just gonna say move your power buttons to the bottom to clear up the wires dangling every where
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 06:13 PM   #39 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

I am still working on the wiring. I don't know what to do with it all. Here is an updated pic.



I am still not done. Do you have any suggestions on what to do with the big group of wires in the middle or any other wires?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 06:17 PM   #40 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

loosen the ties and tie them to that rail on the top, and let them dangle down when they get to where they need to be and bind them in to small groups that are close to each other or connect them to the back of the case wall next to the mobo that will keep them out of the way
__________________

__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest rig jobmitsuo System Upgrades 12 12-02-2007 01:27 AM
Building a Rig need advice fluidman New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-06-2007 04:48 PM
Newbie building a high end gaming rig Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-24-2007 03:02 PM
Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid Raphael Argus System Upgrades 18 09-22-2007 05:51 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.