building my new rig, please help - Page 14 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2008, 10:02 PM   #131 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Actually it says unallocated. That picture came from a Windows XP system, sorry.

Okay, both of the drives are formatting now. Once they are formatted will they show up under my computer?

Also, I can still not get the internet working. I am trying to install a linksys adapter.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 10:10 PM   #132 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Alright if the Disk Management shows the space as unallocated you have to create the partitions. So right click on the drive and create a new partition. It has to be a Primary Partition. That is the only kind that Windows will install on.

Do that and format the partition cause when you create the partition it will ask if you want to format. So format it right away as well.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 10:15 PM   #133 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

I got both drives formatting right now but before I started formatting the drives, when I right clicked on the drives, the only option it gave me was new simple volume. It did not say anything about creating a partition. I clicked on new simple volume and now I got them formatting.

Is there something I need to do to install my network adapter to get internet working?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 10:20 PM   #134 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

We will worry about that after we get Windows installed. Those drivers will either A.) install with Vista or B.) be on the CD that came with the mother board. But first we need to get Windows isntalled. That is the first priority.

P.S. thanks b1g for the compliment. Kinda scared me when i see Mak need your advice Windows Guru...

When did i become the Window Guru?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 10:34 PM   #135 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Actually I got Windows installed. Sorry if I didn't already mention that. Right now both hard drives are formatting. Just waiting for them to finish.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 10:40 PM   #136 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Okay. So you have Windows installed. So what is the issue now?

You dont have Ethernet Adapter drivers? Check your mobo CD. Should be on there.
If not check the site here:

GIGABYTE - Support - Motherboard - Driver - GA-P35-DS3L (rev. 1.0)
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 10:41 PM   #137 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

The adapter I am using is an USB adapter. It will not install.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 10:48 PM   #138 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

What do you mean it is a USB adapter? For that you need the chipset drivers which are at the link i previously gave.

Are you trying to install the software for your ISP or something?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 10:59 PM   #139 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

I am using an adapter that connects through the usb ports. I installed the chipset off the cd.

Under device manager, it shows the adapter with an yellow exclamation mark beside it and under properties it says this device is not configured correctly(code 1).

Just so we are clear, I am trying to connect to the internet through a network.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 11:01 PM   #140 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

You should have a CD for that as well. But you said it doesn't install right? I am guessing that the device is not Vista compatible and you will have to go to the device manufacturer's website to see if they have updated drivers for you.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest rig jobmitsuo System Upgrades 12 12-02-2007 01:27 AM
Building a Rig need advice fluidman New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-06-2007 04:48 PM
Newbie building a high end gaming rig Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-24-2007 03:02 PM
Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid Raphael Argus System Upgrades 18 09-22-2007 05:51 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.