building my new rig, please help - Page 12 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2008, 06:30 PM   #111 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

So should I make the partition 30gb's? How many MB's is that?
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 06:31 PM   #112 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

How many GBs is your HDD? 30GB is around 30,000MB.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 06:32 PM   #113 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

The HDD I am installing Windows on is 250gb's.

When I clicked on new, it already had 239371 mb's typed in.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 06:33 PM   #114 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

that is as big as your formatted hd can get. You dont want to make it that big, this is just for windows and a few big programs. make it 30,000.

Yeah, I thought were were dealing with xp..
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 06:36 PM   #115 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Okay I did that and I am still getting the same message as earlier about unable to find a system volume.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 06:42 PM   #116 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Looked up your issue, and I think you should read this article:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927520
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 06:45 PM   #117 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

How do I know if my HDD is a dynamic disk?

Do I need to format the partition with NTFS?

I will be back in a few minutes. I have to go do something.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 06:47 PM   #118 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
How do I know if my HDD is a dynamic disk?
Not sure on this one. Windows is not really my forte. You should ask Makaveli. He would know more about this situation than I do.

Quote:
Do I need to format the partition with NTFS?
Yes.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 07:02 PM   #119 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

When I format it, it does not give me any options. And it only takes like 5 seconds to format it. It is still giving me the same message.

What would happen if I restarted the computer in the middle of the Windows installation? I am thinking I need to go into the Bios but I don't know.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 07:51 PM   #120 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: building my new rig, please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
When I format it, it does not give me any options. And it only takes like 5 seconds to format it. It is still giving me the same message.

What would happen if I restarted the computer in the middle of the Windows installation? I am thinking I need to go into the Bios but I don't know.
it should give you the option for a type of file format. I say just wait for someone who knows more about windows installs to get in here. I dont know much about the vista install.
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest rig jobmitsuo System Upgrades 12 12-02-2007 01:27 AM
Building a Rig need advice fluidman New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-06-2007 04:48 PM
Newbie building a high end gaming rig Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-24-2007 03:02 PM
Building a basic rig, need mobo/ram/vid Raphael Argus System Upgrades 18 09-22-2007 05:51 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.