Building my new computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2006, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default Building my new computer

I have an idea on what I want to build, but I'm not 100% sure. I just wanted to see what the general public thought before I finalized everything. The computer will be for gaming, playing such games as oblivion, quake 4, cs 1.6, cs source, battlefield 2, and age of empires. My price range is up to about $1600ish.

I was thinking of...

4200 x2
2gb corsair value ram
7900gt
antec 550watt psu
36gb raptor
200gb regular

for $1617.

Sound good to you guys? Anything I should switch out for something else?
__________________

melonabusar2 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

x2 4200 is not good because it has low cache, the 3800, 4200 and the 4600 has low cache, either get an Opteron 165/170/180/185 or 4400+ and 4800+ or any of the FXs which is way above ur price range. as for ram get $150 G.skill 2x1GB dual channel ram, PSU, GPU, HDDs are fine.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Calibretto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 133
Default

I say stick with Corsair but don't use value ram. You should have an awesome rig when it's done.
__________________
- Gigabyte P35-S3G
- Q6600 @ 2.40GHz | Cooler Master GeminII
- 4GB OCZ Platinum @ 800MHz
- XFX 9800GT | Zalman VF1000 Cooler
- Antec Three Hundred Case | Antec NeoPower 380W PSU
- Acer 22" Widescreen LCD (1680x1050)

- Best 3DMark06 Score: 15109

PM me when you have read this.
Calibretto is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k, corsair is not better than G.skill, OCZ, Crucial OR Patriot. although its good, the other ones are better. and if you want you can get value ram, value ram is perfectly fine, its just not the best if ur going to overclock.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 11:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2747&p=3
The 4400+ (2.2GHz and 2x1MB cache) is only 2.2 frames faster then the 4200+ (2.2GHz and 2x512kb cache). This goes to show that cache doesn't help that much as people make it out to be. But don't get the 4200+, get a 3800+ (which is only 1.8 frames slower in oblivion, but is 60 bucks cheaper).

I would get most of the HW from newegg.com :

AMD X2 3800+ $297
G.SKILL 2GB DDR400 RAM $152
HIS X1900 XT IceQ 3 $480 w/ 30 dollar rebate = $450
Antec TP2.0 550W $90
WD 250GB 7200 $90
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D $123
X-FI XtremeMusic $117 w/ 30 dollar rebate = $87
Thats $1349 before shipping and rebates'

This gives you money to spend on the case and DVD-RW, as well as Windows XP if you don't have it. Raptor HDDs don't have good price/performance ratio so I recommend against it.
Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.