Building my first system - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2006, 04:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
ril
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Well i really don't know how it works. when i use my old HD does my OS (XP) transfer to all my new stuff or do i need to reinstall a OS for the mobo and such.

Anyway i was going to buy it at a later date and i think i am going to buy all this stuff tonight.

As for the RAM i have a few of DDR1 ram here at my house so i can throw those in as well. and as far as i know putting DDR1 in with DDR2 slows the DDR2 ram to the speed of DDR1
__________________

ril is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 04:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
ril
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
Default

i'll take a look at the other brand of ram the only reason i picked the one i did is because it seems everyone likes it the most.
__________________

ril is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 05:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reckliss
For one he already has a dual core CPU so I suggested another DUAL CORE cpu the Opteron 165.
Maybes i put that wrong... i should of said, May i ask how you can say change HIS CHOSEN dual core to a opteron 165 without knowing what he will be using his PC for?


Btw ril i would go for the X2 4400+ instead of the 4200+ for the xtra 1mb cache.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 05:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

The 4200 is a waste of money 3800+ or 4400+
reckliss is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 05:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Just buy the academic version of the windows xp pro upgrade, save some money.
Buy the Opteron 165 and you can overclock it to FX-60 speeds.
persianxballer is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 07:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to Aesthetic
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reckliss
The 4200 is a waste of money 3800+ or 4400+
The 3800 is just affordable dual core. I've used both the 3800 and the 4200, and there is a HUGE difference in overall performance. I was not that impressed with the 3800 in comparison to the 4200.

If you want affordability, you should go with a 3800. For better performance, the 4200 is most certainly worth it.
Aesthetic is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
ril
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
Default

LOL i went with the 4400 X2 lol
__________________

ril is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.