Building my first high powered computer please comment - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 10:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yes. but a better choice would be the G.SKill
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

only if he was getting 2 x 512MB RAM. OCZ makes better 1GB sticks
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

well i think he shuld get 2X1GB dual channel, thats much better.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes that's what i mean by "OCZ makes better 1GB sticks"
If i were recommending 1GB only, it would be 2 x 512MB
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 01:08 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Change your "From" section, its way too long.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 01:32 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

agreed, the from section looks bad.

Quote:
Okay thanks for the tips guys, I was from the start going to get AMD but this guy said AMD "overall" tend to overheat and have more problems.
this guy is either straight out lying or has his facts very VERY wrong. AMD processors run on average far cooler than Intel processors (granted they have a lower max temp threshold though). Intel processors have more overheating protection but they still tend to overheat more than AMD's. apologies over reccomending the 3200+, like trotter said that cpu is a dual core but i didn't pick it up because it was late when i responded. i would reccomend the x2 3800+ which will anhillate that 3.0ghz pentium D. for gaming i would reccomend at least a 6800gs. for the motherboard look at the DFI NF4 Infinity/LanParty range.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 06:11 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Okay you have really talked me into AMD you sure you guys are not sponsored by them lol ^^

Anyway, i'll change my sytem around a bit to suit my budget then I will get you guys to comment on it again.

thanks
Hornstar6969 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 06:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

For AMD, I'd recommend an Opteron 165 if you plan to overclock. If you're not going to overclock, a 3800+ would be a good choice for DUAL CORE POWER! Also, drop the 6800. If you haven't bought anything yet, switch to 7600 GT. It's a moderate improvement over the 6800, if a little more expensive.
Orayn is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Actually, the case you had picked out is a very nice case (I recommend it often). It has a great PSU, plenty of room, and good airflow.

Quote:
this guy is either straight out lying or has his facts very VERY wrong.
Sounds like your friend doesn't know his rectum from a hole in the ground. AMD CPUs run way cooler than Intels, and have for quite a while.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

um yea.......like i said, buy a seperate CPU, preferably an Enermax, OCZ, or Antec. Its just not worh the risk to get a Case w/ PSU. Dont cheap out on ur PSU. DONT DONT DONT! if something happens with the PSU u just lost a whole Computer.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.