Building my first computer. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2012, 09:54 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Default Re: Building my first computer.

My monitor is plugged into the DVI port on my computer. I read that the DVI is better than the VGA. My VGA cord is not plugged in cause I read that you don't need the VGA cord if you use the DVI cord. There is a cord with green ends and I just matched it to the green holes on my desktop and my monitor.

I think the windows 7 graphics drivers update was an optional one and I don't want to do the optional updates unless I am 100% sure that is my problem. The less stuff I have stuck on my computer the better.

Silencio is offline  
Old 03-14-2012, 12:02 AM   #22 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: Building my first computer.

I think what jason is hinting at is to make sure that your DVI is hooked up to your graphics card and not your motherboard's DVI port. The graphics card will be down amongst the slots, not up amidst the USB ports and such.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-14-2012, 02:18 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Default Re: Building my first computer.

Ok that looks like my problem.

I will move the DVI cable down.


Ok I fixed the problem.

I am a noob and I plugged my DVI cable into the Integrated graphics port. I moved it to my video card port and game is working fine now.

Error message is gone also.
Silencio is offline  
Old 03-14-2012, 07:22 AM   #24 (permalink)
ninja troll
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Building my first computer.

gj, noob.

eh, it's not like your computer didnt turn on because it wasnt plugged in.

do some cable management and post some pics.

Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870

jasonalwaysready is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help building computer ~$900. New to building rex_rhade New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-26-2011 01:37 PM
Building My Computer guaterickie System Upgrades 10 06-13-2007 08:30 AM
building new computer, help Naked Overclocking and Modding 3 09-17-2005 02:16 PM
building a computer DahWhon Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 02-26-2005 12:36 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.