building my first amd/ati setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2012, 01:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default building my first amd/ati setup

so I have an xClio Windtunnel sitting in my garage with an EVGA 680i mobo and a 600W psu in it. have a 1T HDD and an EVGA 9600GT sitting aside. but considering the age of the mobo I figured I'd use the case, psu, and HDD and just start fresh with the rest. here's what I came up with, it's a lite gamer, mostly web browsing *it's for my wife*
Newegg.com - AMD FX-4100 Zambezi 3.6GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor FD4100WMGUSBX
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000) Desktop Memory Model BLE4G3D2001CE1TX0
Newegg.com - XFX Double D HD-679X-ZDFC Radeon HD 6790 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

and if the psu I have doesn't work for the card/board

Newegg.com - PC Power and Cooling Silencer Mk II 750W High Performance 80PLUS Silver SLI CrossFire ready Power Supply

now this is mostly selected on linking amd products as best as I can. the RAM is the lowest latency that I could find, the board by a company I know, in the price I like. the card much the same. so I guess this is a call out to the AMD specialists... what are your thoughts?
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 02:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 79
Default Re: building my first amd/ati setup

all the stuff will work but for light gaming ram seems alittle overkill and id look for a cheaper board and get a better gpu and go after a phenom over the 4100 like these items

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-990XA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Newegg.com - XFX HD-685X-ZCFC Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 960T Zosma 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor HD96ZTWFGRBOX

very little more money and much better gaming

PS 600w should be fine
__________________

Ecthelion is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 04:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: building my first amd/ati setup

ok, thanks for the reply... now I have questions. the card... the only thing that pops to me is the streaming processors. the Double D beats the 6850 on core and memory clock. how much perf difference is there when losing the battle on those but winning on streaming processors?
Quote:
Combine an AMD FX CPU with an AMD 9-series chipset motherboard and AMD Radeon HD 6000 series graphics cards to create the AMD ďScorpiusĒ platform.
Does this do anything for performance? that quote is from newegg from the XF series chip, which is what I meant about the linking. also, the 4GB of ram also takes into account music editing and possible graphics editing. I think it's worth the expense for the increased performance. games will include DDO and possibly other modern games, but the amount of play will be light
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 02:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 79
Default Re: building my first amd/ati setup

the 6850 is all around better Radeon HD 6770 vs Radeon HD 6850 – Performance Comparison Benchmarks @ Hardware Compare the 6850 is 256bit vs the 6770 128bit and then stream processors 2 things you cant change atleast you can over clock the core and mem

as for the ram i ment the 2000mgz in my first post and for the AMD Scorpius no clue im sure if you google it youll find something
Ecthelion is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 02:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: building my first amd/ati setup

don't want to come off argumentative, just trying to clear things up. the 6770 is also 256 bit, unless I'm missing something? I've now done alot of reading into the 6770 and 6850, I understand that the 6850 is better, I just can't grasp why. according to specs it should not be faster/better.
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 02:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 79
Default Re: building my first amd/ati setup

very simplistic explanation of what they are and do but think of the stream processors as cpu cores. if you look at the higher end cards there core/mem clocks realy are not that more if at all from the 6790 but there stream processors are alot more.


PS: i mean simplistic as to what they technically are and do

Edit.... im so sorry its the 6790 your talking about and indeed it is 256bit
Ecthelion is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 04:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: building my first amd/ati setup

LOL makes two of us not catching that, I just went with the 6770... so ok, the 6790 only trails the 6850 on streaming processors... core and mem clock higher, everything else appears identical. is there that much actual performance difference?
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 05:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: building my first amd/ati setup

why would you order 1 4gb stick of ddr3 2000 ram instead of 2 4gb sticks of ddr3 1600 ram for the same price?
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 02:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: building my first amd/ati setup

faster ram. pure and simple
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 03:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: building my first amd/ati setup

then I highly suggest you read up on DDR3 speed scaling.
for your purposes (light gaming and web browsing), faster ram makes no difference.
8 GB of RAM with a RAM disk on the other hand...
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
office setup: 3 monitors + ATI 2400? tastegw Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 08-12-2009 04:53 PM
ATI Crossfire setup, im confused xbox122501 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-01-2008 03:42 PM
Critique this setup please! I'm new to building :D LunaireEclipse New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-20-2006 08:00 PM
Im building a PC - Is this setup OK ?? thundertiger New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-06-2006 04:23 PM
Building new computer, will this setup work? Wyluli Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 02-22-2005 08:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.