Building my first.

Beemo

Solid State Member
Hi guys iam looking at putting together my first gaming pc, actually this is my first build period, So after many hours of research iam almost ready to pull the trigger and would just like some help or recommendations on my build. Also since ive never done this before to make sure my items are compatible and that I havent forgotten anything.

I want a good solid pc that will be able to play modern games (BF3, Skyrim, Starcraft II ect.) in medium/high detail and be able to play these games for awhile. Also the pc needs to be able to do normal daily tasks like watching/streaming movies and school work.

Budget needs to stay under $1500 for the pc but would like to come in below if possible, I am ready to purchase these items soon since i am without a computer at the moment and dont mind lightly upgrading the system a bit down the road.

Intel Core i5-3570K, EVGA GeForce GTX 670, Corsair 200R - System Build - PCPartPicker

I plan on getting a good screen, gaming mouse, keboard, sound card and speakers later on for now its just basic items.

Thanks for the help

Last edited:
Looks good to me. You can save a small bit of cash by dropping the EVO cooler and dropping the 1866 RAM to 1600.
I would also get the ASRock Extreme 3 over the Gigabyte too, which also happens to be cheaper.

Although the 830 was my most recommended SSD for like 6 months straight, I have personally owned the Corsair Neutron GTX and recommended it over the 830 as I have experience with it. Either way is still good, although the GTX is 5 bucks cheaper.

Meat and bones of your rig looks spot on though.
I can save you future cash by saying you don't need a sound card unless you are getting a high end audio setup.

Thanks a ton PP Mguire,

I am gonna stay with the Gigabyte board since it has a good long track record, But will definitely be going to 1600 ram, Corsair GTX and ditching the cooler. Maybe later if/when I start to OC I will pick one up.