Building an Intel rig, compatibility questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2007, 03:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default Building an Intel rig, compatibility questions

Hi,

I've build a few Athlon rigs before, but never an Intel rig. An Intel newbie of sorts.

I'll be building a rig soon for a friend of my sisters, and just wondering if all of these would be compatible:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300, 1.86GHz, LGA775,
Gigabyte GA-965P-S3 Intel P965
Western Digital 300GB Serial ATA
Kingston VALUERAM DDR2 1GB PC2 4200 DUAL CHANNEL 2x512MB DDR2 533MHZ CL4
Viewsonic VA703b 17" 8ms
Inno3D GeForce 7900 GS 256MB, PCI Express
Asustek DRW-1608P3 16x
Logitech X-230 2.1 6watt Satellites 20watt Sub
OverclockersNZ Elite ATX Mid Tower Case, 420W PSU, Black

Thanks in advance.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 08:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Yeah it looks compatible.

Just check google to see if that ram is compatible with that board.

Also try to see if your friend can save up a little money and get the e6600. The main feature of the c2d is the 4mb cache, he/she will get a big performance boost if she goes a step up.
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 08:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

the E6300 is a nice chip. I have it now along with that same board and it OC's very nicely. I would suggest 2GB of ram though.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 09:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Yeah, I've suggested things like that to her, but her budget doesn't allow for that, her being a university student and all.

Just another question while the board's here, installing a C2D cpu is the same as installing an Athlon one? Can still use that Artic Silver paste on em?
cyrax is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cyrax
Just another question while the board's here, installing a C2D cpu is the same as installing an Athlon one? Can still use that Artic Silver paste on em?
The installation procedure is similar, except the socket has a "load plate" which you have to open before inserting the CPU. Just press and then lift a small lever to do it. Then put the CPU in, close the plate, and push the lever back into the locked position (might require a bit of force).

You will also notice Core 2 Duo CPUs don't have pins anymore, just small golden contacts. This is for the best, since it eliminates the danger of breaking a pin during installation/removal.

Also, of course you can (and should!) use Arctic Silver 5.

Socket LGA 775 (also known as socket T) for Core 2 Duo processors:



Socket LGA 775 with load plate open:

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 09:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Ah ic now, thanks for the in-depth explanation.
cyrax is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default

umm guys is it just me or is the motherboard the wrong socket?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Is it? I got those two items from a computer magazine, they say they're compatible in their plans.
cyrax is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Cyrax, that's a good build as long as your sister's friend does not intend to do any overclocking.

Quote:
Originally posted by Private_Shon
umm guys is it just me or is the motherboard the wrong socket?
:freak: ?

What're you talking about?

Quote:
Originally posted by alexsabree
Yeah it looks compatible.

Just check google to see if that ram is compatible with that board.

Also try to see if your friend can save up a little money and get the e6600. The main feature of the c2d is the 4mb cache, he/she will get a big performance boost if she goes a step up.
The RAM is compatible. And there won't be a big performance boost from the 4MB L2 cache, only is synthetic benchmarks like SuperPi.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 01:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Private_Shon has his mind elsewhere. The S3 is socket LGA 775, and chipset is Conroe-compatible. But don't trust me, trust the manufacturer.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.