Building a Home Server for Virtualization. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2014, 06:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Building a Home Server for Virtualization.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reapt View Post
Do you think I could get away with an i3 and 4gb of ram? Trying to go cheap as possible while still being efficient enough to virtualize those three.
Eh possibly. Long as you don't want to run Plex or something.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 04:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Reapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 261
Default Re: Building a Home Server for Virtualization.

I just remembered an old dell box I used to use. Not at home so can't verify but I think it's a core 2 duo with 4gb of RAM think it could handle being a LAMP?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i5 3570k
CPU cooling: Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
MOBO:MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
RAM:G.Skill RipJaws X Series 8GB(two 4GB)
GPU: MSI Gaming OC GeForce GTX 760 2GB
SSD/HDD:SamSung SSD 120 GB, Seagate 1TB HDD
PSU:Rosewill CAPSTONE-550-M 550W
Case:Corsair Graphite Series 600T Arctic White Steel
Reapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 04:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Building a Home Server for Virtualization.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reapt View Post
I just remembered an old dell box I used to use. Not at home so can't verify but I think it's a core 2 duo with 4gb of RAM think it could handle being a LAMP?
It'll work fine. Just won't be able to virtualize everything separately - you'll have to have it running on the base OS, which is fine for a home environment IMO.

Like I said, I have (well had, now) a Pentium 4 w/ 4GB of RAM running all that stuff I posted above just fine. Didn't start struggling until I put Plex on there and tried to encode movies. Now I switched that out for a C2D e8400 with 6GB RAM.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 05:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Reapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 261
Default Building a Home Server for Virtualization.

I think my only problem is that mobo uses the old school data ribbons(IDE ribbon cables) for the drives :/. Do modern drives even have those ports anymore? Or is it all SATA?

I would like to throw in there like a 4 tb or something.
__________________
CPU: Intel i5 3570k
CPU cooling: Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
MOBO:MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
RAM:G.Skill RipJaws X Series 8GB(two 4GB)
GPU: MSI Gaming OC GeForce GTX 760 2GB
SSD/HDD:SamSung SSD 120 GB, Seagate 1TB HDD
PSU:Rosewill CAPSTONE-550-M 550W
Case:Corsair Graphite Series 600T Arctic White Steel
Reapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 05:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Building a Home Server for Virtualization.

Can get a PCI SATA card to solve that.

Though, I find that hard to believe if it's a Core 2 Duo board - SATA started coming on boards even before that.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 05:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Reapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 261
Default Re: Building a Home Server for Virtualization.

Just had my girl check the sticker for me. Guess it's a penguin 4. Lol gotta love my autocorrect. Pentium 4. Looks like I might have to buy some new RAM for it and some HDDs should I just build a new system and not waste my time with this old junker?
__________________
CPU: Intel i5 3570k
CPU cooling: Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
MOBO:MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
RAM:G.Skill RipJaws X Series 8GB(two 4GB)
GPU: MSI Gaming OC GeForce GTX 760 2GB
SSD/HDD:SamSung SSD 120 GB, Seagate 1TB HDD
PSU:Rosewill CAPSTONE-550-M 550W
Case:Corsair Graphite Series 600T Arctic White Steel
Reapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 05:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Reapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 261
Default Re: Building a Home Server for Virtualization.

I know you did it but would it be worth it? What about scaleability?
__________________
CPU: Intel i5 3570k
CPU cooling: Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
MOBO:MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
RAM:G.Skill RipJaws X Series 8GB(two 4GB)
GPU: MSI Gaming OC GeForce GTX 760 2GB
SSD/HDD:SamSung SSD 120 GB, Seagate 1TB HDD
PSU:Rosewill CAPSTONE-550-M 550W
Case:Corsair Graphite Series 600T Arctic White Steel
Reapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 05:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Building a Home Server for Virtualization.

Would be alright to start out with at least, unless you wanted to build something more powerful for the future. I used the P4 machine I had because I got it for free lol. Got the C2D machine for free as well, so I upgraded.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A server virtualization project success story - techrepublic.com office politics Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 2 02-08-2010 04:30 PM
652 - server virtualization - free ebook dwnld office politics Technology Careers and Education 2 01-24-2010 01:27 PM
Windows Server Virtualization Calculator Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 01-22-2007 08:25 AM
OS Virtualization IBMan Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 1 08-09-2006 10:06 AM
VMware and MS offer free server virtualization. IBMan Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-04-2006 08:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.