Building a high-end pc - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 12:27 AM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
Strange, never had problems with my valueselect corsair ram, works in dual channel and everything, *shrug*
Hmm, I guess it works for some, but it really messed with mine strangely enough.


I guess I'll get everything once I get all my money together, which may be 4 to 5 weeks, but in that time period I'm sure will be some new nice hardware. Anything I should consider?
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:00 AM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
You do not need to get uber OCing RAM since you stated you wont be overclocking a bit, I would get valueselect ram, 4x 512 sticks Corsair, they suck for OCing, but I dont OC and they work wonders for me.
No, never get 4x512MB. Its way better to get 2x1GB sticks. In most Mobos the RAM uses 2T timing, and if you're really unlucky, it gets downclocked to PC2700, when you fill all 4 memory-slots. And if you read the stickies on the OCing page, there is no difference between ValueRAM and expensive RAM if you're NOT overclocking. I can't find it now, but somebody posted a thread 2 or 3 days ago with charts showing the drop in performance when you use 4x512MB.
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:41 AM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

I was thinking last night about doing SLi for future addon when games get more intensive. Is it worth buying the SLi 7900 over the 7900 KO? I know the heatsink on the KO is better and it's a very POWERFUL card and I think it'll last a long time, but just wondering on what I should do.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:14 AM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

the KO can be SLIed

look under the specs
it says
SLI supported: Yes
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:14 AM   #35 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

*shrug* the difference between PC3200 and 2700 is not that much in the first place when your talking about 2 gigs of ram, and anyways, during the time i bought it, I was being told that 4x512 worked better since you used dual channel for each 1gig enhancing your bandwidth, besides, I dont care to much, my machine is a beast =P
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good. ~ Samuel Jackson

Omnis vir est fortunae faber
JoshSB is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:15 AM   #36 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

also if you look at the box top right hand corner it says SLI
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 02:56 PM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Hmm, that's wierd. I don't recolect seeing the sli logo at the top... which it doesn't on the thumbnail view, but you are right, it is SLi supported. Sweet.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 03:01 PM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Near the airport eh parent are coming back tonight lol btw I live over in Pine Township (Pine-Richland School District) Sry bout that lol
reckliss is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:09 PM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

I was looking at this as well. Is the extra 10 or so dollars worth a 20mhz difference? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150139
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 11:31 PM   #40 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

anyone?
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.