Status
Not open for further replies.

DirtyPlunger

Beta member
Heya, new to the forums.
I'm looking into building a gaming rig.
I admit im a complete noob when it comes to computers,
so i need your help =)
I mainly play MMOs like: WoW or GuildWars2 and D3 when they come out Also StarCraft 2, I wana be able to handle these games well with high settings.

Heres the Set-Up im looking at right now, let me know what you think!

Processor:
- Intel Core i7-920
- Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B CPU Cooler
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!
337$
(I'm not a picky/HARDCORE gamer and i heard this processor may be abit overkill and i could go with something cheaper.. Whats the next step down from this if thats the case?)

MotherBoard:
- ASUS P6X58D
- Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!
320$
(Again is this overkill, or is this ok for what im looking for?)

Hard Drive:
- Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
100$

Memory:
- CORSAIR XMS3 4GB
Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX4GX3M2A1600C9
109$

DvD Drive:
- LITE-ON Black
Newegg.com - LITE-ON Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA DVD Writer - Bulk - LightScribe Support - CD / DVD Burners
22$

Case:
- Antec Twelve Hundred
Newegg.com - Antec Twelve Hundred Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
170$
(Still looking around at other cases..)

Graphics Card:
- NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT (Already Own It)

Power Supply:
- LSP Ultra 740W ATX Power Supply (Already Own It)

Monitor:
- Samsung SyncMaster 206bw 2ms 3000:1 Dynamic Contrast: (Own It)

Total: $948.93