Building First PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaVinci

Baseband Member
OK so in a month or two I'm going to build a computer for myself and my girlfriend. The main uses are for gaming, web surfing, and school work the main game being Final Fantasy XIV later this year. I'm not a computer guru but I am a Computer Information Systems major in college at the moment so I do know the basics. I want the computer to be easily upgradable in the future. Budget is 1-2k (including monitor/keyboard/mouse/speakers) I don't care about headphones or surround sound. This is my first build, up to this point I've only fiddled with small stuff such as removing HDD's, Memory, Ext. Multiple HDD's are not necessary at the moment although i would like to have the space to add more later. To start I'm fine with a single GPU although I would like it to be crossfire enabled and possibility add another in the future. I have messed around on Newegg and found a semi build but please comment on what you think of it and make any recommendations. I'm not sure what goes well together and/or what could be done different to make it better. The only thing i really want is: i7 processor, 6gb ram (prefer 12 but fine with 6). Also I could care less about 3D gaming. Furthermore I have never over clocked although I do intend to. Also any information that would be helpful in the actual assembly process would be appreciated.

Current Build:

Case $89.99:

COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN1-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Link Here

Mother Board $209.99:

Gigabyte X58A-UD3R 1366 mobo with USB3/SATA3
Link Here

Processor $298.99:

Intel Core i7-930 Bloomfield 2.8GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Desktop Processor
Link Here

Hard Drive $:104.99

Western Digital Caviar Black WD10000LSRTL 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive
Link Here

Video Card $389.99: