Building a first gaming PC; looking for parts

Aristo

Solid State Member
Hello! I've been wanting to build my own PC for a while and with the holidays rolling around, now seems like a good time to put together a wishlist for components. Its main function will be gaming, although I plan on doing a bit of music production on the side. I have a gaming laptop that I've been using for about 2 years, but well, it's a laptop.

Currently, the laptop I'm using has as follows:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz
8 GB of RAM
500GB HDD
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560M

I'm getting less-optimal performance than I'd like to, and only 2.00GHz concerns me. My laptop struggles occasionally to run games at high settings, and gets very hot, being a laptop in the first place. I'd like to have a more permanent, upgrade-able machine.

That said, I'm not sure how to start off looking for desktop components. For starters, I'd like to stay with Intel and Nvidia's GTX cards, as I'm used to them. I don't have a lot of experience with PC parts, but I'd like to significantly out-perform my laptop, of course, and maintain high-tier visuals. I'm also looking for more space, as I'm constantly uninstalling games to make room for phasing in new ones. I'd like to have a mid-sized tower if I can get away with it; space is more a luxury, being in a dorm environment. Because I'm not as experienced with tinkering with computers, I'd like to look at proven, reliable components and reduce the risk of having to get too hands-on with something I'm not familiar with.

Games I'm looking at playing on a desktop include Planetside 2, Battlefield 3, the Total War series, Mechwarrior Online, Skyrim, etc.

Any suggestions or tips would be much appreciated!

Last edited:
Ah, I forgot! Well, I'd rather not weigh down my relatives; if anything, buying the parts would be a join-effort. Maybe $1k-$1.6K would be optimal.