building an "everything" computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2005, 10:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nezzari
Hmm, is that better than http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145579
Yes, that is valueram, use OCZ's Performance brand (timming are better).
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 10:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Beefcake
Yes, that is valueram, use OCZ's Performance brand (timming are better).
Is there a noticeable difference?
__________________

nezzari is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 11:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I never used valueram, but for 4 extra dollers you get better quality, comes with a heat spreader, timmings are faster and it looks cool, also it is easier to overclock.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 11:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stishdr
memory:

so ill definetly go with this, 2Gigs of this should be perfect. thanks for the advice.
If you insist on 2x1G, get this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231020
4x512mb is better however.

Quote:
Originally posted by Beefcake
Yes, that is valueram, use OCZ's Performance brand (timming are better).
The timings are exactly the same.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 11:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

When I looked at Corsair value ram it's usually 3-3-4-8 or 3-4-4-8.

Trust me just get 2x1 it's less risky then getting 4 x 512, and you'll also save 5 bucks on shipping. Also when you use 4 sticks you're forced into 2T timings, instead of 1T.

Check this out: http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...&enterthread=y
Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 11:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to stishdr
Default

im gonna stick with 2 1gb sticks, everyone says it will work faster and better with the BIOS, so no 4x512 for me, and i will use the OCZ, definetly better!!!!!!!
stishdr is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 11:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Good decision.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 12:05 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to stishdr
Default

1T definetly better, but is there a big difference between the OCZ and the G Skill that are posted on this post?
__________________

stishdr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.