Building Computer as we speak - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2006, 10:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
when i got my cpu i didnt hav any other thermal paste so i kept wat came on the hsf. my temps are at about 38 idle will these temps lower after a week or so?
anyone know?
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
anyone know?
prolly not but 38C is pretty good if you're not OCing.
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 02:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I used the stock stuff on the heatsinc with my AMD Athlon 3200+, and I'm getting about 21*C at idle, around 35*C at full load.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 07:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

hmmm well i am going to overclocking but not that much. im getting new hsf anyway soon so that will keep it cool.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 08:49 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
im getting AS5, and also the Opteron 165, so does the Opty come with the thermal pad? and wtf do i get 90%+ Isopropyl Alcohol.
Check your local drugstore. If not you could always use 70% isopropyl alcohol. Just make sure you give it more time to dry as it has a higher water content. Or you could order some arctic clean online.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 08:51 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Just use ArtiClean, it's not that expensive.

You're gonna have to use AS5 I think, specially if you're buying an aftermarket cooler.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:26 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I think you can get it on www.newegg.com

The stock thermal pad is pretty good, but sticky as ****. It gets gunky after a while and isn't fun to take off.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by badmojo77
Nope, Nothing... Just a...omg is this it? It is small gray square, is that what they are talkig about?
Yes, thats it. Unless you ordered Thermal Paste, don't dare touch that paste. You even smudge it, your CPU will burn. If you have Thermal Paste, however, feel free to clean that off and apply the paste.
__________________

Green Radience is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.