building a computer starting with a barebone kit. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2009, 08:41 PM   #31 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

The cmos reset returns the bios to its original settings basically wipes the slate clean and can sometimes wake the motherboard up as such.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:55 PM   #32 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Tryed it without the jumper cap just using a paperclip, still the same
__________________

chump is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:12 PM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Reading the book I came across this " to meet expansion requiremnets, it is recommended that a power supply that can withstand high power consumption be used (500W or greater). If power supply is used that does not provide the required power, the result can lead to an unstable or unbootable system.". Meaning my 450w isn't enough?
chump is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:19 PM   #34 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

that corsair PSU should be up to the task of handling it. i would not worry too much about that. i have booted my PC up (the one in sig) with the same PSU as you have, but i only ran it for about a day. it ran all of my stuff just fine and dandy. and my system needs alot more juice than yours so i think you are covered there.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:24 PM   #35 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Well it does discribe the behavior to be unable to start, I don't know what else to do
chump is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:32 PM   #36 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

We figures out that the mobi was being bent in the case and when we powered it outside the case it worked
chump is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:34 PM   #37 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

so there was a short in the case, taking the mobo out and powering it up outside the case works then correct?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:39 PM   #38 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Yes now it's in without the little back piece that identified the USB and mouse slots and it works so far
chump is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:54 PM   #39 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Did you use standoffs to keep the mobo from shorting to the case? That would be my first guess.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 10:08 PM   #40 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Well now I'm up on BIOS and I'm at a screen saying verifying DMI pool Dat..... And it's just sitting there
__________________

chump is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Building a video editing computer - parts bettyboop05 System Upgrades 0 01-02-2009 01:16 PM
building new computer (new to this) dubol New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-26-2008 09:28 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.