building a computer starting with a barebone kit. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2009, 08:00 PM   #21 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Ok unplug everything and only plug a single fan into the powersupply. Turn the powersupply off at the wall and get a safety pin or paper clip attach. you want to bridge between the green wire and any black wire on the 24pin motherboard connector. The green is the activation circuit to tell the psu that its plugged into something and the black is the ground. You can now turn the psu on at the wall and the fan should start spinning. If it doesn't you have a DOA psu and you are a very unlucky boy.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

The fan is working .....is it the motherboard then?
__________________

chump is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:17 PM   #23 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Possbly do you have another a cpu that you could try? Anything which is am2 or am2+
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:25 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Not one available, even without the prosseror the motherboard doesn't turn on
chump is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:26 PM   #25 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

The motherboard won't turn on without a cpu in it as it wouldn't be able to run the bios . Did you try using both sticks of ram when testing it turning on as in you plugged one in with one out turned it on then swapped them around atried again. It could be a dead ram issue. You did have the cpu cooler on when trying to boot up everytime right? without the cooler the motherboard safety will cut in and kill all power before the cpu fries.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:28 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

try doing a CMOS reset, just for good measure
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:32 PM   #27 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Its a shame that hardware troubleshooting is such a labourious process its ok for us permanent tinkerers but I still find it so frustrating having to rebuild everything then take it out and start all over again.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:36 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

I tryed to use a ram stick from my brothers computer and still the same thing.
chump is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:38 PM   #29 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

Look in the manual on how to clear the cmos battery then try with the original test of just bare parts; cpu, mobo, cpu cooler and ram powered by the psu.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 08:39 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: building a computer starting with a barebone kit.

What's a CMOS reset?..
__________________

chump is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Building a video editing computer - parts bettyboop05 System Upgrades 0 01-02-2009 01:16 PM
building new computer (new to this) dubol New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-26-2008 09:28 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.