Building a computer, which Power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2006, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 67
Default Building a computer, which Power supply?

Question 1: Ok I am building a computer using the following parts to play games like Half-Life 2 and FEAR on, and want to know what type of power supply I should get. Keep in mind that I am on a budget and would like to get a psu for under $40.

Question 2: I would also like to know if anyone has any suggestions better parts or better prices for the parts?(remember budget)

Question 3: Someone told me that I should use a different motherboard and I havn't been able to talk to him again to ask why, is there any reason I should use another motherboard?

OS: Windows XP home edition SP2
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Processor $61
Motherboard: ABIT KN8 Motherboard $59
Memory: HP 1GB(2x512mb) PC3200 DDR DIMM Memory Kit $68
Hard Drive: Seagate 200gb 7200rpm(stripping from old computer)
Video Card: eVGA GeForce 7600 GT Video Card $109
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live(stripping from old computer)
Power Supply: ?????

Everything else not listed there I already have from previous computer(mouse, keyboard, monitor ect..)
__________________

Spartan III is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

You should never ever skimp on the power supply.

However, you can find a quality one for a little over that budget, it just limits your ability to upgrade in the future without buying a new one.
__________________

__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Iwas going to suggest the 450 Watt Version.. (@ Kblair)

But the 400 Watt one is good enough.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KBlair
You should never ever skimp on the power supply.

However, you can find a quality one for a little over that budget, it just limits your ability to upgrade in the future without buying a new one.
Thanks for the link, before I choose that one I was curious about what you guys thought about these two?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...227022&CatId=0
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...028&CatId=1844

I would prefer the second if the PSU is good enough to handle my rig, and I wouldn't still have to buy a case.

Which of the three would be best?
Spartan III is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

The one suggested above should be plenty. I powered my system with the 450Watt Version.
reckliss is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Spartan III
Thanks for the link, before I choose that one I was curious about what you guys thought about these two?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...227022&CatId=0
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...028&CatId=1844

I would prefer the second if the PSU is good enough to handle my rig, and I wouldn't still have to buy a case.

Which of the three would be best?
Never heard of "power Up" Which is a bad Sign.

The only good PSU that comes with a Case is in the Antec line I believe.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 05:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

Power supplies that come with cases are usually low quality.

Also, Power Up isn't as much as a well-praised power supply company that Forton is.

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Iwas going to suggest the 450 Watt Version.. (@ Kblair)
Yeah, but it seems he was low on cash, and I didn't want to go that much off budget. (Although, I personally would find the extra $10. )
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 05:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Oops I was talking about KBlaires suggestion.
reckliss is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 05:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KBlair
Power supplies that come with cases are usually low quality.

Also, Power Up isn't as much as a well-praised power supply company that Forton is.

Yeah, but it seems he was low on cash, and I didn't want to go that much off budget. (Although, I personally would find the extra $10. )
Not Antecs that come with Antec Cases.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 05:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 67
Default

Too be honest my real question was just how many watts would I need to run what I have listed? What would be good if I was too upgrade in the future, to say a dual core athlon 64 4400+?
__________________

Spartan III is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.