Building A computer... need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Post Building A computer... need help

Alright im building a computer and here what ive come up with so far:

-MAXTOR - OEM - 80GB SATA II HARD DRIVE 9MS 8MB 7200RPM- 72.82$
-CD-RW - LITEON BLACK (BURN-PROOF) CD-RW INT EIDE 52W/32RW/52R RETAIL - 31$
-AMD-RETAIL ATHLON 64 X2 ADA3800BVB0X 3800+ 2.0GHZ CPU 512KB L2 CACHE SOCKET 939 RETAIL BOX -348.54$
-CHENMING 601AE-AL 19038 STEEL & ALUMINUM BLACK TOWER CASE W/450W POWER SUPPLY -114$
-Evga e-GeForce 7800GT------------>Evga Package - 438$
-Evga nForce4 SLI Motherboard--------------^
-KINGSTON DDR NON-ECC PC3200 CL2.5 KVR400X64C25/512 512MB MEMORY 400MHZ (i have another 512)- 65.05$
- MS-OEM DSP WINDOWS® XP HOME (Must sell with hardware) 109$.
- Sound card (do i need one?)
-make sure everything is compatible

I know i need more but i only have 1000$ and that comes out to 1065$ (CDN). heres some info about the mobo:
http://www.motherboards.org/reviews/...ds/1533_2.html

It says it supports amd64 FX and amd 64...does it support
amd64X2?

What else will i need (I KNOW im missing alot)? I wont have alot of stuff to save thats why i have the small hd. I will be playing BF2 with it and would like to run it well.
Do does the 2nd core in amd64 x2 do that much- if not ill just go with a cheaper processor (amd64 3700+ i could OC, it would save me 100$ that would buy me an OS)

the Parts in red is what i can change and the ones in blue is what im still looking for/trying to do.
__________________

Keadonen is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 11:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

i was kinda hoping to find flaws and see if there is anything else i need... im not sure if it will work so i am asking you guys
__________________

Keadonen is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 11:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

u dont need a sound card but if ur an extreme gamer u'll prolly want one. I'm assumin ur case comes with ur powersupply, might want to replace that, stock PSUs arent that great and ussually dont last long. As long as the X2 and the mobo are both s939 it'll work u might have to BOIS update. Looks good though... didnt kno eVGA made motherboards.. guess u learn something knew everyday
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 11:20 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

its good if u give us the links to where u see these products cuz its impossible to know every piece of hardware out there. its also faster since we get quite a few of these "How's my new comp?" as u can see
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

its all at a local store. :
www.bcom.ab.ca

heres ALL the links
- The mobo and gfx card are in a package just a little bit down the page (also im not sure if the mobo is evga..it just said evga package ) http://www.bcom.ab.ca/
-Processor: http://www.bcom.ab.ca/store/product....cat=277&page=1
-memory: http://www.bcom.ab.ca/store/product....cat=352&page=1
-Cd drive ( it can be used as a regular cd rom and a cd burner right? ): http://www.bcom.ab.ca/store/product....cat=267&page=1
-Hd: http://www.bcom.ab.ca/store/product....cat=320&page=1
-OS: http: (it says sell with hardware... does that apply to me?)//www.bcom.ab.ca/store/product.php?productid=54003&cat=429&page=2
- PSU+case (i changed the case becuase this one costs less it think.) http://www.bcom.ab.ca/store/product....cat=254&page=1

annnnnnnnnd i think thats everything.. thanks guys.
Ill probably replace the psu later when i have money.
(And i get nero ultra 7 edition becuase i bought the processor just found that out lol, do you know if its any good or if its useless?)
Keadonen is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

u should get a fairly cheap mid tower case and buy a seperate PSU, thats one thing u dont want to screw up.

If you can afford the 7800GT, why cant u afford the 7900GT? its much better, and the price difference doesn even go into the double digits, well at least not here in toronto.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

because it will probably cost more becuase it wont be in the package... i think. (If it only costs 50$ more ill probably get it )

but does it look like everything will fit together ok? btw the 7900GT is 385.44 (just checked)
Keadonen is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

exactly, wat a price difference.

get a seperate psu and case. and when u do, DO NOT cheap on on PSU, by all means DO NOT!
john3 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 11:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

should i get this case and this psu?:
case- http://www.bcom.ab.ca/store/product....cat=253&page=1
PSU- http://www.bcom.ab.ca/store/product....cat=256&page=3

that raises the price like 200$... I've heard that the dual cores arent that good for gaming and it would be better if i just got a regular amd64 that would save me some money. ( I dont have that much money thats why i cant spare 50 on upgrading to the 7900... and thats why id rather just get a USEABLE psu and upgrade when i have the money). sorry if that sounded ignorant or rude i didnt mean it to sound like that.
__________________

Keadonen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.