building computer need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2006, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Send a message via AIM to 1337_d3r3k
Exclamation building computer need help

ok iam building a computer. first time, uh iam not sure as on what to buy like i got the tower in mind. iam sure the stuff i buy wont depend on my tower...right? and um if you could....give me a list of exactly what ill need like what type of RAM and stuff all that maybe just a list i dont need to get it off innernet iam going to store to buy but itd help if you could give m e a list for ... a gaming computer but ill be browseing web with i and playin music so basiclly its multimedia so yeah my budget is estimation in 1000's
__________________

1337_d3r3k is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

why are you double posting? dude you already asked this question and got answers. What more do you need??
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

well to be fair, they gave him a dream $6K build.. he only wants to spend 1K or a bit more..
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Can I use DDR2 667 with AM2 socket motherboards?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Send a message via AIM to 1337_d3r3k
Default

Thank you alias iam only spendin in the 1k's it'd be nice seeing how iam sorta new if u can give me a list of what i need
1337_d3r3k is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ok, here are some good parts to look at. keep in mind that if you wait a week or two you could get your hands on the new intel Core 2 Duo CPUs. they're a lot better.. and you'll probably spend the same amount of money.. maybe a bit more..


but since core 2 duo isn't released yet, this is the kind of system you should be looking into getting if you were buying today..

http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16813131013

http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16819103735

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231087

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130032

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152058

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129154

total: $1111.93 + tax/shipping. - $30 mail in rebate..
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Send a message via AIM to 1337_d3r3k
Default

ty alia
1337_d3r3k is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by persianxballer
Can I use DDR2 667 with AM2 socket motherboards?
yes, if the motherboard supports it (99.9% of the time, yes!)


there are cases where some ddr2 ram just won't work on AM2 sockets.. try to make sure the ram is not made for intel systems only..
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Send a message via AIM to 1337_d3r3k
Default

question to n e 1 um what comp. game should i get iam mainly into shooting(not hunting),rpg,online(always)(online and single player),maybe like sumthin like medal of honor or around there
know of n e thing?
1337_d3r3k is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Send a message via AIM to 1337_d3r3k
Default

id also want to put my tower on wheel(lol) but like mini uh..er..small wheel how would i got bout doin that?
__________________

1337_d3r3k is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.