Building computer for the first time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2010, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default Building computer for the first time

Hey guys I am building my computer for the first and it is not booting.

specs:

PSU COOLMASTER|RS-460-PSAR-J3 RT
HD 500G|SEAGATE ST3500418AS %
DVD BURNER SAMSUNG | SH-S223C %
VGA HIS|H577FK1GD HD5770 RT
CPU INTEL|CORE I5 760 2.80G R
MEM RAM 2Gx2|GEIL GV34GB1600C9DC RT
MB EVGA 120-LF-E651-TR P55 RT
CASE ROSEWILL | BLACKBONE RT

When I try to boot my computer the fan spin for a sec and then they stop, everything seems to be connected well, and I tried switching the rams around but still no luck. I followed the instructions in the manual. Help. I also have nothing in the intruder slot, and serial A
__________________

stephvai is offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Building computer for the first time

Make sure you have all of these power connectors connected:
- The 8-pin (or 4-pin) CPU connector.
- The 24-pin motherboard connector.
- The 6- or 8-pin connector for the HD5770.

Try one stick of RAM at a time to see if the RAM is the cause - and make sure that you are putting the RAM in the correct slots, according to your motherboard's manual. Usually they are colour-coded, and you need to have the RAM in the correct colour slot(s).

Oh, and just to check - have you installed the stand-offs (those little screws that also have screw-holes at the other end of them) that go between the motherboard and the case?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Building computer for the first time

I don't have a 24 pin connector it is only 20 pins on my power supply for some reason
stephvai is offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 08:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Building computer for the first time

Looking at the images of your motherboard on NewEgg (Newegg.com - EVGA P55V 120-LF-E651-TR LGA 1156 Intel P55 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard, I believe), I think that your board needs a 24-pin connector. In which case, if your power supply doesn't have a 24-pin power connector, then I'm afraid it just isn't going to work. You'll need to get a power supply which does have one.

Edit: According to NewEgg, your power supply (Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Elite 460 RS-460-PSAR-J3 460W ATX12V V2.31 Power Supply, I believe) has a 20+4-pin connector. There might be a separate cable with the other 4 pins.

Edit2: Now looking at the images for your power supply on NewEgg, I can see the 20-pin connector, and a separate 4-pin connector; they should be attached by a ziptie somewhere along the 20-pin cable.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 08:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Building computer for the first time

are you sure thats the problem?

Ok thanks I fixed that problem but now my computer boots and shuts down right away

It boots shuts down and resets right away
stephvai is offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 08:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Building computer for the first time

See both of my edits ^

Now, does it do anything before shutting down? Are you able to enter the BIOS (usually by pressing F9 or DEL or F10)?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 08:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Building computer for the first time

Am I sepose to put anything in the atx cpu slot
stephvai is offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 08:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,664
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Building computer for the first time

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephvai View Post
are you sure thats the problem?

Ok thanks I fixed that problem but now my computer boots and shuts down right away

It boots shuts down and resets right away
Remember to use the edit button mate
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 08-16-2010, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Building computer for the first time

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephvai View Post
Am I sepose to put anything in the atx cpu slot
Is that the one that's either 4 pins or 8 pins? It should be close to the CPU socket.

I find it hard to believe that you're following the instructions, if you failed to plug in the CPU power connector.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 08:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Building computer for the first time

Sorry, I found the pin connector part confusing, that's the only part I got really lost. WHen I put in a 4pin close to the spu socket it does not boot up at all
__________________

stephvai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st time building a computer UmarAllAroundYou System Upgrades 11 09-03-2009 01:22 PM
First Time Building Computer Twheeler New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-08-2006 11:46 AM
Building a computer for the first time pepsiclock New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-25-2006 08:17 PM
First time building a computer, need some help nhpb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-26-2006 07:00 AM
First time building computer... mystikast Overclocking and Modding 72 03-04-2005 05:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.