Building a computer. Feedback appreciated - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2007, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default Building a computer. Feedback appreciated

Hello all, i have a few questions at the moment and would appreciate the help.

I've read over the FAQ's and learned a lot. the only thing I did not learn was if I should find a processor and then find a compatible motherboard, or if I should find a motherboard and then a compatible processor.

That kinda sets the path for this question:
I've been reading and asking a lot of computer guys their opinions and came to the conclusion that a Pentium 4 processor will work fine for my needs for now, but on a future date, I would like to upgrade to Core 2 Duo. Is that possible to do in the same motherboard? If so, suggestions would be great.

I may have further questions so I will post as i think of them. Thanks in advance

NathanLedet is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992

I usually go with the CPU, then motherboard.

It may be possible, it just depends on your motherboard. If you have socket 468 Pentium 4's, then you will have to swap in a new socket 775 Motherboard.

How old is the computer?


May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 06:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135

I haven't built the computer yet. i'm on newegg right now browsing the CPU's and Motherboards.

Will I have to choose a video card based on what kind of motherboard i choose? Are the slots different from mobo to mobo?

and my question about upgrading later on, take this motherboard for example:

CPU Type: Core 2 Duo / Pentium D / Pentium 4 / Celeron D

Could I buy that motherboard with a P4 today, and then 6 months from now if i decide to upgrade to a C2D, just simply open the case and swap the CPU's out? is it that simple? or is there a little more involved than just that?
NathanLedet is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 04:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417

No as long as the motherboard has pci-express slots then any pci-express gpu will fit it, its just slot dependant, not motherboard dependant.

And the answer to your last question is yes, you could just swap cpu's
jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.