Building a computer:) - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2005, 03:18 PM   #41 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813999501

this is the closest i got, i know theres more like the hardcano 12 or 13
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 05:44 PM   #42 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

So do ya think that case is good?...?

also that controller, does it control the actual fan speed by it self..* i think I'd have to manualy do that...:\ not sure what to set it on etc.

Also I've been thinking and I think i'm going to go with a dual core proccessor by AMD but Not sure what to get!:\

will add more soon
__________________

__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 06:07 PM   #43 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

CASE DOESNT MATTER

except how many hdds you put, how big. and more of a peersonal perference
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 11:45 PM   #44 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

Alrighty.. I plan on probably just puting one hdd in and about 250.. I think...mabe lol

So just so long as its got alot of good review and that I know that my stuff will work with it I'm set?


---------
edit #1
---------
^ Ok here's the hdd i found:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16822148065

Ok I know its a noob question but I'm not that big of a computer know it all person. So here it goes: What does it mean by 8mb of cache.... i mean is 16 better? or ...?
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 08:25 AM   #45 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

16 is better, but most people here have 8 or 2. i forget what the cache is, bigger is better. its like the L2 cache in a cpu. and you want it bigger, so it goes throught the cpu first then the ram and whatever

its like how many information it stores on whats coming next, i think so if you have bigger cache, it can store more information. so it can process things faster?!?!?!

nice hdd
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 01:51 PM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

So do you think that I mabe should look for instead a hdd with 16cache or isn't it that important:\
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 01:55 PM   #47 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

no. buy the seagate hdd. only maxtor and WD make 16MB cache hdds, once seagate starts making them then you buy
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 01:59 PM   #48 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

...why would i buy a hdd that will need replacing ????

Not sure why I would do that..????????

Also what model dual processor have you heard is the best for your money<===seeing I don't have alot to spend>_<

And should i get the 6800GT?
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 02:36 PM   #49 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

model?

the one with the toledo core. i thought your budget was 1000 dollars? and you want to buy the 850 dollars 4800+?

you dont have to get a 6800GT, if you dont get the X2 processor then go for a 6800GT, but a 6600GT is fine
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 02:38 PM   #50 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

My budget is 1300

I was just checking to see that you still thought I should get that one.

Also I thought 6800GT was way worth the money:?


----
edit # 1
----

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
model?

the one with the toledo core. i thought your budget was 1000 dollars? and you want to buy the 850 dollars 4800+?

you dont have to get a 6800GT, if you dont get the X2 processor then go for a 6800GT, but a 6600GT is fine
Ok what do you mean by model???
__________________

__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.