Building a computer:) - Page 15 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2005, 08:21 AM   #141 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

if you have money go for a LCD. if you dont have money go for a CRT
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 04:39 PM   #142 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

Alrighty.....I changed my case....


------------------------new list-----------------------

Thanks for looking over my computer parts list!!

Cpu: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core processor 3800+. It's the Toledo core instead of the Manchester

Motherboard: DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard

Ram: OCZ Value Series 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model OCZ4002048V3DC-K
------------
Case: ASPIRE X-Dreamer ATXB3KLW-BK/420W Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case ATX 420W power supply for AMD/Intel Power Supply or: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...68#DetailSpecs

--------------
Floppy Drive: SAMSUNG Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive Windows 98SE/ ME/ 2000/ XP - OEM

Hdd: Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 ST3250823AS 250GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM

Dvd burner: NEC Black IDE DVD Burner Model ND-3540A - OEM

Graphics Card: XFX GEFORCE 7800GT 256MB DDR3 16X PCI-EXPRESS W/ DUAL DVI & VIVO
---------
Power Supply: OCZ OCZ520ADJ ATX 520W Power Supply - Retail....or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104934
..I really don't know what PSU get:

I still need to find a good monitor that would fit my needs, preferably with a 19in screen.

I don't really know how many fans to get in my case or what brand, etc.

I still need to figure out if I should get that 7800GT or wait for it to come down, or get the: some brand 6800GT.aaaaaww i think i'll get the XFX 7800GT


Any suggestions,comments, help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________

__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 05:28 PM   #143 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

ok, stick with the X-dreamer II case. and add the exahust fan and move the top fan to the front. whatever happened to the antec truepower 480W power supply? anyways between thouse 3 i would either get the 1 or the 2. do not get the 3 one. you still want to go with XFX, ok. thats your choice.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 06:54 PM   #144 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

why not the 3rd one? just wondering

antec truepower 480W power supply....I looked on newegg and there are 2 that are about the exact same...???

Also do you think I should stick with the ram I have listed...? Some people said I should change it.

So why did you decide to have me stay with the X-dreamer II case? I'm just wondering

I ask too many questions
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 08:58 AM   #145 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the case is more on personal perference. so im not sure what you need, case fans, hdd space, optical drives, floppy drives, etc.

the 3rd one only has 15A on each 12 volt line, while the other two i bleive have aounrd 18.

the ram is ok, you said you are not going to be OCing a lot, so that ram is just fine, and if you ever want to OC you can just run the memory divider

you ask too many questions
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 10:29 PM   #146 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
the case is more on personal perference. so im not sure what you need, case fans, hdd space, optical drives, floppy drives, etc.

the 3rd one only has 15A on each 12 volt line, while the other two i bleive have aounrd 18.

the ram is ok, you said you are not going to be OCing a lot, so that ram is just fine, and if you ever want to OC you can just run the memory divider

you ask too many questions
Thnx for the reply And yup I 100% agree I ask too many questions

I'll stay away from that 3rd PSU, thnx

To be safe for OCing what memory do you suggest?<==Nothing tooo spendy tho

As far as the case goes I think I'll go hunting for a different one for a bit and if I can't find any other one I'll get one of those two that I listed above....

THnx again

Harobikes333
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 06:47 AM   #147 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you can always just buy faster rated ram. like pc 3500 or something like that.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820221131

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144517

^^ i would recommend that, i was going to buy it, bu it was out of stock and i couldnt wait
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 01:37 PM   #148 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

the DFI motherboard says to use 3200....? On the specs on newegg

so would the higher rated ram work......I'm thinking so...... lol
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 03:09 PM   #149 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

of course the faster rated ram will work. just make sure you raise the FSB/HTT to whatever your ram speed so you can start the real OCing
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:07 PM   #150 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

I'm not planning on OCing my processor or graphics card until the warranty is gone....aka 3 years from now and the graphics card I don't plan on OCing since it comes factory OCed some....... so do I really need the better ram..?
__________________

__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.