Building comp for my friend - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2007, 04:31 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Re: Building comp for my friend

man, seems like budget PSU's are rough to come by, go one way it sucks, another way and you spend $100.
__________________

Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 10:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Building comp for my friend

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
I've also known of a few people who had problems running x1900s and x1950s on power supplies with dual 12v rails with 15-16a each...

Only way to know is try i guess
My Seasonic has dual 12V rails at 16 and 17 amps and my rig runs fine with an X1900Xt...

My brother has an x1950xtx and he runs it with a Vantec 460W power supply.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 11:35 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Building comp for my friend

....and I'd be willing to bet your brothers PSU has almost 100ms ripple at those loads as well. May be fine for the majority of systems but if overclocking it certainly doesn't help stability.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 06:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Re: Building comp for my friend

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
....and I'd be willing to bet your brothers PSU has almost 100ms ripple at those loads as well. May be fine for the majority of systems but if overclocking it certainly doesn't help stability.
Well, I'm not looking to set any records, only a small overclock on the CPU (2.5) and a little boost on the GPU (15-20 clocks at most), so I guess I'll let you guys know how the PSU does. and what's the difference having two 16Amp rails and a single 32Amp rail?
__________________

Okitasoshi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a new comp what do you think? csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-25-2007 07:41 AM
Building Comp for Friend ZorrosRage New Systems | Building and Buying 20 08-15-2007 07:08 PM
building a new comp corye New Systems | Building and Buying 22 08-14-2007 07:47 AM
Noob Needs Advise for Building Gaming Comp therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 29 05-20-2007 08:53 PM
Help Building a CAD Comp =] GopherBallz New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-19-2007 03:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.