Building a $ 4,000 gaming pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2007, 06:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Default Building a $ 4,000 gaming pc

Hello guys.

I already have some pieces of my new pc. I must tell this is a pc for gaming on vista.

What i already have:

Monitor: 24" FP241WZ Benq --> $ 886
Case: T.T. Armor silver ----> $ 200
PSU: Cooler master - Real Power Pro 850w --> $250
Mouse: Razer Cooperhead -----> $50
total - $ 1,386
--------------------------------
$ 2, 600 left

Next to buy

Video: i´ll buy one 8800GTX by the moment and sli later when some games needed.

CPU ---> ?? E6600 ?
RAM --> ???
MOBO --> ?????

HD ---> ???? i was thinking in the raptor X 10,000 but some say it´s a waste of money and the 7200.10 it´s a better choice, so i better take your advice. also.. will i need a controller card for raid 0 ?

Im so confused with all these RAM, MOBO and HD things because of the bugs with the 680i mobos.. and so many options to choose for RAM.

I won´t do OC cause i don´t know pretty much any thing about it, and i dont want to burn any component so i want a good rig running ok with stardar settings.

Before any answers i want to thank you for taking the time to help me with this. and sorry about my english.
__________________

janoloco is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

Mobo: Asus Striker Extreme (I hear its good, not greatest for ocing but if your not doing any then it doesnt matter)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131074

Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (decent timings in case you do want to overclock someday)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231077

CPU: depends if you want to go quad core or dual core..but for a great system it will cost like 1k roughly

HDD: anything seagate...
__________________

__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I would get a 975 Board over a 680i but that's just me. Then get the E6600.

Also get two Barracuda 7200.10 and RAID 0 them and you will see good performance.

For RAM I would look into say G.Skill HZ's or something similar.


Last Overclocking is pretty much 100% safe these days. I have not known one person ever who has fried a Core 2 Duo chip overclocking becuase all the hardware today will shut down before it can do any harm.

The sad part is man someone can make a 2500 system and probably beat your 4000 due to overclocking and selecting cheaper that would work well.

Wow you spent a lot on a monitor man...500 bucks for 2 inches more but hey it's your cash.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 07:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I would get a Evga 680i motherboard, e6600, g.skill ddr2 800, and go with Sora's idea for the hd's.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 07:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

I wouldn't get that powersupply, just me.
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 07:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

He already did or I would have suggested another.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 07:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
He already did or I would have suggested another.
Ah ... Well it's $4,000 budget, he can buy a different one :P
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 07:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

LOL Yea i wouldn't trust a 4k system on a Cooler Master. it will probbaly work but I wouldnt wanna be around if it doesnt >.<
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 07:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I was gonna say he already stuffed up on the power supply, but since he already bought it....

-sighs-
Ste is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 07:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yea I would return it...I wouldn't let that thing run my 4k system lol. I would rather have a Corsair or an OCZ gamestream or something. **** I would rather have a lot of companies over that.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.