Buildin a LAN comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2008, 11:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Talking Buildin a LAN comp

Hey everyone i'm in the process of deciding what parts to put into a new comp i'm gonna build. So what im basically making is a small laning comp for my bedroom and to take to friends lan it up.
So far i've only decided on the case which is gonna be a
Newegg.com - Thermaltake VF1000BWS Black Aluminum Front Panel/ SECC Chassis MicroATX Desktop Computer Case - Computer Cases
and on my next step im deciding on a MOBO which has become dificult. These 2 are the ones i'm deciding on http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/...ProductID=2534 http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/...ProductID=2692
if you have an opinion or any other options please post..
__________________

osborne3 is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Buildin a LAN comp

Ok since you're on an HTPC case you are limited to these: G35, Q35, G33 Boards as they are mATX

Newegg.com - ASUS P5E-VM DO LGA 775 Intel Q35 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards Thats not a bad board..
then its just your normal Tech-Forums build from there... whats your budget?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: Buildin a LAN comp

Well my budget is around 1000$ AUS and im probably gonna hit up a 8800 GT
osborne3 is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 12:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Buildin a LAN comp

Look into the similar apevia case, from what I gather they are better, and a lot cheaper. Plus I think they look loads better.

Newegg.com - APEVIA X-QPACK-BK/420 Black Aluminum 1.0 w/ ABS plastic front panel MicroATX Desktop Computer Case ATX 420W power supply Power Supply - Computer Cases

From personal experience, I can tell you apevia's psu's aren't half bad either (although I wouldn't recommend using it with a 8800 gt).
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 01:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default

Yeh its all good i'm pretty much up for any case now.
This MOBO seems pretty sweet ASUSTeK Computer Inc. and thnx for the hep : )

or this one ASUSTeK Computer Inc. suports higher RAM speed : )
osborne3 is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 01:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Buildin a LAN comp

the first will still support the same DDR2 level as the second one.. its just that its recommended better on the second one
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 03:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: Buildin a LAN comp

Hey would u know if theres any SLI micro-atx boards coming out or any really sweet micro-atx boards coming out because i dont wanna buy a board only to find out a sweeter newer ones are just being released.
osborne3 is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 05:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: Buildin a LAN comp

Its all good now i've decided on what Motherboard im gonna use this one
Newegg.com - ASUS P5E-VM HDMI LGA 775 Intel G35 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
really nice board i reckon......it looks cool and can overclock : ) now all i have to do is find the rest of my parts lol.
If u have any ideas on what components or extras(cooling etc) i should get then say.
osborne3 is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 09:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Buildin a LAN comp

Where are you buying from? Newegg doesn't ship to Australia, but you probably knew that.

Have a look at this: staticICE :: Australia's comprehensive computer hardware and gadget price comparison search engine

It has the cheapest products around Australia listed, just put it the item you want and it will give you the best prices around.

Also for a graphics card i recommend getting a HD 4850 or a 9800GTX, both with similar performance/price.

What will this computer be used for? Then we can give you the best build possible.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 06:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: Buildin a LAN comp

Hey yeh its gonna be my laning rig and comp at my moms
And just using newegg as something to show it on hehe
And i've finished my build and i wen't for an 8800GT : )
__________________

osborne3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onboard LAN and PCI LAN not seen ifly85 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-18-2008 12:15 AM
lan not workin> Luke Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 02-03-2008 08:35 AM
Build update status/dual gibabit lan question Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-16-2007 10:36 PM
New comp doesnt turn on Gregz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 08-22-2007 07:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.