Build for Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 01:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mr Beans Sidekick
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 563
Send a message via MSN to Max Power
Default Build for Vista

How much would a build be that can run Windows Vista's best version with ease and any program of course. I definatly want 2gb of RAM.

*I dont need a GFX card ill just reuse my Geforce 6200 and upgrade later down the road to a Geforce 8 series card.
__________________

Max Power is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 01:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

What is your system right now?

Vista is just an operating system, it will work on budget systems with medium graphics cards, it isn't a big deal.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

yeah everyone is treating vista like it's some brand new game with high requirements ...

it's a freakin operating system.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mr Beans Sidekick
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 563
Send a message via MSN to Max Power
Default

ya I know but even my pc now thats running xp has alot of program freezing and lots of lockups etc.

Specs:

CPU: P4 3Ghz
RAM: 1gb - PC3200 DDR SDRAM
HD: 150Gb
Chipset: Intel 856G

I know this PC can run Vista but I want a PC to run it really good and fast.
__________________
Max Power is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 03:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

That computer will run Vista, if you don't believe us, you can download the public beta and try it yourself.
The General is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 04:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

pfft dont waste your money on vista. Its garbage.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 04:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

^ Agreed. Get Linux.
The General is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mr Beans Sidekick
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 563
Send a message via MSN to Max Power
Default

money isnt a issue -_-

I would get Linux but it doesnt run all the programs/games I want it to
__________________
Max Power is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Programs such as Wine and another that I cant remember off the top of my head should work fine for games ?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Foostaple
money isnt a issue -_-

I would get Linux but it doesnt run all the programs/games I want it to
I don't want to hijack your thread, but no, it doesn't run all programs and games you want it to, it runs other programs that do the same thing, and other games that are equally entertaining.

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
Programs such as Wine and another that I cant remember off the top of my head should work fine for games ?
Nah, Windows-only games suck in Linux. That's all there is too it, luckily all the best games have Linux versions. I rarely have the need to use Wine.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

« Ram | LCD Monitor ? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.