Build Status - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2007, 07:18 PM   #21 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Build Status

isnt there a way to short thru the power switch?
could be bad.
could be a bad mobo.
could be a bad psu (yes i know even though the power led comes on).
you say power light comes on do you mean case power light or mobo power light?
does the case have standoffs that you didnt put in (ie is the mobo resting directly on the case)?
im guessing one of those four things. i need to figure a system for you to eliminate them one by one.
do you have a nearby friend with a comp you can plug the psu into to see if it powers his rig? if so, connect the power switch from HIS front panel and see if it works. that should eliminate PSU and power switch.
i dont know how intel seats their sockets, but AMD has a cam lock mechanism and if it isnt lockled, nada.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 08:21 PM   #22 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Build Status

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
isnt there a way to short thru the power switch?
i dont understand
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
you say power light comes on do you mean case power light or mobo power light?
mobo
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
does the case have standoffs that you didnt put in (ie is the mobo resting directly on the case)?
all 9 are firmly screwed
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
do you have a nearby friend with a comp you can plug the psu into to see if it powers his rig? if so, connect the power switch from HIS front panel and see if it works. that should eliminate PSU and power switch.
i dont know how intel seats their sockets, but AMD has a cam lock mechanism and if it isnt lockled, nada.
i'll try this...
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:49 AM   #23 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Build Status

okay if the power light is on the mobo and not the case, that eliminates a bad switch in your case.
try switching the psu.
but, before that...
i thought you said earlier, but i cant find it in the post, are your fans hooked up directly to your psu? or are they connected at the mainboard headers?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:57 AM   #24 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Build Status

when inserting the cpu..did you make sure you entered it the correct way?
when i did my first build with intel, i realised i didnt set it right.

Apok taught me how to test out my psu , but i cant remember exactly how.
Somethign with taken a paper pin and plugging it somewhere in the 24 pin connector.
Hey nagasama, you prolly know what im talking about, whats the exact and correct way of doing that procedure.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 01:01 AM   #25 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Build Status

i dont know krazyq, to tell you the truth. i have heard of it as well...
but i've never had any PSU problems lol.
do intel chips actually go into the socket if they are not turned in the right direction? and you can get a HSF on them and everything?
i would DEFINITELY check that if they do.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 01:12 AM   #26 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Build Status

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
i dont know krazyq, to tell you the truth. i have heard of it as well...
but i've never had any PSU problems lol.
do intel chips actually go into the socket if they are not turned in the right direction? and you can get a HSF on them and everything?
i would DEFINITELY check that if they do.
yeh they do, and thats what shocked me...
i had it in the wrong direction, and suprisingly everything fit ok...then i checked again an di was like ...OH OH!!!

so yeah, he should check that.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 01:22 AM   #27 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Build Status

wow. dude. i guess its a good thing they dont turn on if its in backwards.
jesus.
any kind of markings that can tell invisible which way it goes?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 01:32 AM   #28 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Build Status

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
wow. dude. i guess its a good thing they dont turn on if its in backwards.
jesus.
any kind of markings that can tell invisible which way it goes?
well i didnt read the instructions well..they sucked anyway.
Its kinda self explanitory.

too bad im bad at explaining.

Untitled.jpg

thats the best i can do...make sure the cpu allignt with the red circles i made.

hope that helps...
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 02:09 AM   #29 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: Build Status

I don't see how you could put it in the wrong way and have everything fit.... lol
But i guess its possible. There are those two little indents in the side of the proccessor which have to line up with two other things on the cpu socket on the motherboard.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 09:21 AM   #30 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Build Status

i'm pretty sure its in right....
is it a problem that when the psu in on and the power light comes on that it doesnt get in the least bit warm?
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st build, high end pc, non-gamer ksmart New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-04-2007 05:51 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
suggestions before i build levon11 System Upgrades 3 09-25-2007 08:45 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.