Build Questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2013, 02:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
stewbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Build Questions

I put the parts on PCPartPicker and it said that: "ASRock Z77 Pro3 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard has an onboard USB 3.0 header, but the Cooler Master Elite 430 ATX Mid Tower Case does not have front panel USB 3.0 ports."

What case should I get then that could house all of my components?
__________________

stewbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 03:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,298
Default Re: Build Questions

It has the USB 3 front header but also USB2 front header. You can still use that case.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 03:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
stewbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Build Questions

...Ok. So you can connect only the ones you want to? like only connect the USB 2.0 to the case?
stewbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 03:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,298
Default Re: Build Questions

On the board there are multiple headers. The case only has a USB2 dual header on the front so you plug that into the USB2 header port on the board in question. The board also has a USB3 header but they are different connectors. You can still plug USB3 devices into the front ports in USB2 mode, and USB3 mode in the rear USB3 ports. If you really want USB3 in the front you'll have to chose a different case.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 01:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
stewbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Build Questions

Oh ok thanks

EDIT: So I've looked around and found a video for a PC for 550$. Here are the specs and would this be better for the money than my list I picked out?

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor $81.99
Motherboard: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Micro ATX AM3+ Motherboard $61.97
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory $29.99
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 500GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $54.99
Video Card: HIS Radeon HD 7870 2GB Video Card $214.98
Case: Apex Vortex 3620 ATX Mid Tower Case $31.62
Power Supply: XFX 550W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply $53.99
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-224BB DVD/CD Writer *$15.99

I know the prices will be different because it was posted a month ago but is this build still good for gaming today?
stewbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
stewbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Build Questions

Oh Ya. Here's the video if you want it for reference :
stewbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,298
Default Re: Build Questions

It is still good yes, but some of the components I wouldn't buy.

For isntance, I wouldn't get the 960 chipset ASRock as it's a cheaper board.
I also would not get an XFX PSU. Also, good luck finding a 955 as I think only the 965 is offered anymore. Still a good chip and probably same price but honestly I would keep the build you had previously.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
stewbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Build Questions

For the OS I want to go with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade, because it is really cheap right now. Could I boot this system up with my copy Windows XP and then run the windows 8 Pro upgrade? Or are the parts that I want not compatible with Windows XP?

Also, the Corsair TX750 is 89.99$ on amazon, the same price as the TX650.
stewbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,298
Default Re: Build Questions

If your current copy of XP is 32bit then that wont work. You'll need a full copy of 8.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 05:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
stewbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Build Questions

Awww. Well is 8 pro any better than regular 8?
__________________

stewbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.