Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2007, 12:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out!

Don't get AMD. You can do better in that pricerange.

But suit yourself, I know Apokalipse is satisfied with 2nd best, maybe you are too.
__________________

__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 12:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out!

the OP obviously knows what he is doing to a certain degree, is he not allowed to have an opinion on how to spend his own money? why flame on apkalipse? that serves no useful purpose...except to incite another AMD/intel argument...yawn.
now, for instance, i agree with gurusan that if you do go amd, buying an am2+ mobo would perhaps be a good choice, as (hopefully) AMD will solve their issues with the phenom and you will have a mobo that takes advantage of the newer technology.
if you are going to go the am2 route, you should consider sticking to the low end chips/boards and overclock the snot out of them. or get the am2+ board and a cheap chip.
any chip costing that much (as much as the FX or the 5000) will be pretty easily overpowered by a c2d in the same price range.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 12:39 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathawk View Post
Don't get AMD. You can do better in that pricerange.
not by much, considering AMD's chips are going cheap.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathawk View Post
But suit yourself, I know Apokalipse is satisfied with 2nd best, maybe you are too.
Now steady on, Deathawk.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 01:33 PM   #24 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out!

I say get that x2 5000 black edition. It's on sale at tigerdirect right now for $99.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 01:39 PM   #25 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out!

oh snap now that my friend is a good deal.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 03:02 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out!

Its $99 w/o fan.. but no biggie going WC.... ordering in a few minutes
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 03:09 PM   #27 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out!

eh....e2180 with AF7 ftw
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 03:18 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
the OP obviously knows what he is doing to a certain degree, is he not allowed to have an opinion on how to spend his own money? why flame on apkalipse? that serves no useful purpose...except to incite another AMD/intel argument...yawn.
now, for instance, i agree with gurusan that if you do go amd, buying an am2+ mobo would perhaps be a good choice, as (hopefully) AMD will solve their issues with the phenom and you will have a mobo that takes advantage of the newer technology.
if you are going to go the am2 route, you should consider sticking to the low end chips/boards and overclock the snot out of them. or get the am2+ board and a cheap chip.
any chip costing that much (as much as the FX or the 5000) will be pretty easily overpowered by a c2d in the same price range.
this is my plan.. since eventually i need two computers, Im going to buy an AM2 mobo now, and when AM2+ mobos become more widespread/ in stock!, i will then get an am2+ board and use one of the am2 procs. until the price drop on the x4's ... that is my plan....
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 03:24 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out!

I would just get a am2 board for now and then get a am2+ or whatever is next when you upgrade. I don't see much of a reason to spend so much money on a board now unless your getting a phenom or plan to upgrade the chip really soon.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 03:31 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03 View Post
I would just get a am2 board for now and then get a am2+ or whatever is next when you upgrade. I don't see much of a reason to spend so much money on a board now unless your getting a phenom or plan to upgrade the chip really soon.
^^ YURPPP .. MY PLAN... TO THE T!
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
with the AMD Phenom in mind (Am2) game motherboards?? Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 15 10-25-2007 03:09 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
Check my build so far. massacreinfallx New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-15-2007 11:56 PM
Sorry! another 'Check my build' thread Andyf New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-30-2007 09:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.