Build to max Starcraft 2 settings - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2010, 11:22 AM   #41 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
A typical "450W" PSU would, but not this one.

Also, the 5870 has really good performance per watt. It will use 188W under full load, and less than 30W idle.
The system in total (including CPU) will probably use about 350W total under full load (CPU + GPU)

Well below the PSU's ability to continuously supply at least 450W

A crap PSU rated at 450W might only achieve 450W peak under ideal conditions (i.e. not the conditions you'd use a gaming PC in), so one of those might have problems with this build using about 350W. The corsair VX-450 is miles ahead of a crap 450W PSU.
That Corsair PSU has 33 Amps on the 12v rail.
396 Watts
A full system with a 5870 draws around 350 watts at load.
If you overclocked the 5870 and the CPU I'm pretty sure the PSU would start to feel the heat, unless the 450w Corsair is capable of providing more than what it's spec is rated for.
I wouldn't personally risk it, despite Corsair's good reputation, and their top tier PSU's.
That's closer than I'd personally like to cut it.
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 01:36 PM   #42 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Another side note on SC2 specs since this is what the thread was started for:

my rig plays the beta at max 1920x1200 without breaking a sweat so a 5770 would as well.

Do not get me wrong if you can swing for the 5870 by all means do it. Another option is to use the money saved for a ssd or something along those lines.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 03:46 PM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by orihS ‪‪‪Shiro View Post
That Corsair PSU has 33 Amps on the 12v rail.
396 Watts
396 continuous watts. and that's only the +12V rail.

Quote:
Originally Posted by orihS ‪‪‪Shiro View Post
A full system with a 5870 draws around 350 watts at load.
which is not exclusively on the +12V rail.

Quote:
Originally Posted by orihS ‪‪‪Shiro View Post
If you overclocked the 5870 and the CPU I'm pretty sure the PSU would start to feel the heat, unless the 450w Corsair is capable of providing more than what it's spec is rated for.
Like all good PSU's, it can.

Quote:
Originally Posted by orihS ‪‪‪Shiro View Post
I wouldn't personally risk it, despite Corsair's good reputation, and their top tier PSU's.
That's closer than I'd personally like to cut it.
There's about a 100W margin from the max total system load, to the rated continuous output. Not a risk at all.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[MOVIES] Mad Max 4 finally getting the green light Harper Off Topic Discussion 4 05-18-2009 08:49 AM
All VOIP programs (skype, yahoo, msn) cause PC crash (only voice calls, chat ok)??? disksko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 03-17-2009 09:17 AM
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.